“How to Not Suck at Marriage”

Y’all know Knox McCoy and that I immediately spelled “know” as “knox”, right? One is a person, the other is a given. I’ll let you decide which is which.

Anyway, Know Knox wrote a book. He does that sometimes. It’s this one:

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 8.07.14 AM

And I wrote the foreword.

You heard me.

He asked me, the person who spelled “foreword” wrong when I responded to his request, to write the foreword for something he spent months on.

What? I like Knox but he’s not exactly the sharpest Sharpie in the drawer. In fact, I’m pretty sure he wrote this book in Sharpie. Agreed, that is better than crayon, but still…

Should you buy this book? I’m glad you asked because I have an answer.

Probably.

Are his paragraphs longer than mine?

Yes.

The book is funny and even insightful. I know! I was shocked, too. Will it cure snoring or underwear in the sink? No. But it might give you a heads up about what it looks like to come out the other side of a fight still in love. God knows we could all use that, amiright?

Married or not, the book is good. If only as a coaster.

Or to read my foreword. Whatever.

Buy it.

How to Not Suck at Marriage

What would be your one piece of advice to someone about how to not suck at marriage?

2 comments on ““How to Not Suck at Marriage”

  1. Mike says:

    Treat your partner at least as well as you would any other human being – what I mean by that is that if you were dealing with a stranger or a work colleague, they may well have slightly frustrating or annoying habits that you barely notice, much less comment on. So when it’s your partner, someone that you (hopefully) love and respect, why should it be okay to rip them to shreds for something they do?

  2. robertdyson says:

    Consider whether your spouse is better off, or worse off, for being intimately linked together with yourself – and put time and effort into the ‘better off’ dynamic.

    Unfortunately, my spouse has voiced concerns that, in some areas, she’s less than what she was before meeting me. That’s due, at least partly, to my inherited critical nature. I think there’s also ways that she’s better, but it hurts me to think I’ve diminished her in any way. That’s not what I want. I want a wonderful, vibrant, funny, thoughtful, insightful, interesting, irrepressible woman to be married to. But when I frequently criticize actions that don’t meet MY standards (or lets be honest, oftentimes preferences), she begins to feel inadequate and unhappy. I get the very thing I don’t want, yet it’s ironically what I’m producing. So I try to work more on the encouragement, not taking small things for granted, spending time thinking about (and doing) what brightens her day. Ok, now I’m starting to sound like Mr. Romantic – NOT, but I do believe these things to be true and wish to work towards them.

    Couldn’t you at least give us a teaser lesson from your friends book?!

Leave a Reply

