“But there’s glitter on your boobs!”

kitty%2520from%2520arrested%2520development%2520eyes%2520up%2520here%2520michael%2520bluth_thumb

I have a guest post over at Rage Against the Minivan, Kristen Howerton’s blog. I take some shots at the flip side of modesty. Here’s a bit of it:

BUT THERE’S GLITTER ON YOUR BOOBS!  (<— link!)

I could wear a burkha and still wouldn’t be able to hide my boobs. When you’ve got curves like mine, there is no modest enough. Ever. I’ve never been super popular with the faction of my faith who believes the responsibility of causing men not to stumble face first into motorboating lies solely on the way women dress and carry themselves. Which is a steaming pile, of course. Not only is it impossible for me to completely conceal what my mama gave me, I don’t want to.

Which means I also have to be cool with it when men notice.

There are bloggers and activists out there doing amazing work against the modesty culture that causes women to carry around so much shame when it comes to their bodies. You only have to read this one experience to understand why Christian feminists like Dianna Anderson are so necessary to move things forward in the church. I make a terrible feminist, so I’ll just let my sisters-in-Christ-who-are-smarter-than-me swing those particular punches.

I’m here to talk about the other extreme.

For the rest of it, head over to Kristen’s pad and have a gander. (<— link!)

 

One comment on ““But there’s glitter on your boobs!”

  1. Great post and I really enjoyed reading it on Kristen’s blog. Best of luck with everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

