Terrible YouTube Tuesday

I’m not going to say a word…

Not all of it made me want to shoot myself in the head.

What was your favorite terrible moment?

What did he say that might actually be helpful?

7 comments on “Terrible YouTube Tuesday

  1. Jennwith2ns says:

    I never thought I was a beauty queen, but knowing that “a beautiful girl gets hundreds of messages . . . a DAY,” makes me feel even better about myself! (Back in the day . . . two messages . . . a month?)

    Fortunately, it didn’t take hundreds–or drop-dead gorgeousness, apparently. I’ve found a wonderful husband–via online dating, even. And yeah, he mentioned things from my profile other than my looks. He even went to my BLOG.

    Guys, if you want to date a woman who blogs, you should probably read her blog. 🙂

  2. For some reason, the ‘related videos’ are always more interesting. What is that guy doing with the girl in the pink shorts?

    Anyway, I think he has a good point. I have nothing against dating online, but somehow the messages (especially by guys) seem icky. A friend of mine and I both write articles for a christian dating site and thus we both have profiles. Ever since she’s single again, about 100 men a day watch her profile, sending her about 20 messages a day. In comparison, I had 5 visitors in the last 5 days and the last message from someone interested dates back from October (asking if I was still in a relationship, so that won’t get you any attention, even if I wasn’t). I cannot think of a message that will stand out from those crazy numbers. I think you can apply the rules this man states (which are pretty good rules) for your profile on such websites.

    I’m also curious if anyone here has ever had a dating site or Facebook message from a stranger that hooked.

  3. I would like to institute a rule against wearing a shirt that’s two sizes too small.

    • Lauren says:

      If there were a like button on here, I would totally like this comment. A friend of mine referred to this as the “shmedium” phenomenon. (As in, you need a medium shirt, but you’re wearing a small.)

  4. G Fresh says:

    Haven’t been able to watch the video yet, but it sounds like it would go well with this article I read awhile back.

    http://jonmillward.com/blog/attraction-dating/cupid-on-trial-a-4-month-online-dating-experiment/#references

  5. G Fresh says:

    Did he say his name was Jat?

    Other than his poor, stilted delivery I don’t think he was really too far off on most of his points. As a veteran of online dating, I’ve discovered that the first contact/impression is vital if you have any hope at all of striking up a conversation with someone you like on there. Of course I never play the numbers game because I have a couple deal breakers that severely limit the size of the pool I’m contacting, but generally what he’s saying is true about messaging a girl.

  6. holly says:

    definitely yes to the spelling.

Leave a Reply

