dear sharideth: Stalked by My Ex

today’s dear sharideth is a follow up to “dear sharideth: Fighting Fire with Fire”.

Dear Sharideth,

The break up was 2 and a half months ago. I broke up with her for valid reasons, had the support of everyone I knew in doing so, and had given her way more than ample time to deal with the problems before finally ending things.

I went for a clean break, but we both go to the same church functions regularly and neither of us is going to quit just because the other person is present. The result is that if she knows where I am going or where I’m going to be, she’s there, waiting. She just stares at me with the saddest face she can muster, I ignore her, and if it goes on for too long, she tries to strike up a conversation. I wave, say “hey”, and carry on with life.

I made it very clear in the break up that “still being friends” is just a myth that doesn’t actually work out, and that I have no further interest in her, but she’s literally stalking me. When I leave the church sanctuary, she’s pacing outside the doors, staring at me. I take back doors when possible.

OK, that’s my rant. I’m doing my best to not give her any hope of a renewed relationship, but she’s still after me. Absolute minimum contact possible. My frustration says I should take her aside and ask her to just give up and leave me alone, but I’m still trying to keep things decently polite. I just want her to move on.

What the heck do I do?

-Stalked By My Ex-

dear SBME,

the answer to this one is pretty simple, but it isn’t going to be fun. however it doesn’t exactly sound like you’re having a blast right now anyway, so…

the time for gentleness is over. i know you’ve tried to be nice about all this, but something has got to give. what i’m about to tell you do isn’t meanness. it’s directness.

there is a difference, though some people would argue that.

they’d be wrong, but they’d argue it anyway.

you’re going to have to take her aside and tell her to stop showing up and hovering everywhere you are. use those words if you need to. also tell her she’s only making an already uncomfortable situation unbearably awkward. there is no “if you don’t stop” in your case since you run in the same circles and attend the same church. there is only embarrassing her by telling her she’s making a fool of herself.

now THAT sounds mean, but it’s not. no matter how you point out her awkward making behavior, she’s going to be embarrassed and upset. you need to be prepared for that. but you also have to remember that anything short of getting what she wants from you is not going to make her feel like rainbows and butterflies.

i was her once and i had a good friend tell me to knock it off because i was making an ass of myself. changed my life. literally.

now, you don’t have to tell her she’s making an ass of herself, but you need to directly communicate the same sentiment.

if she doesn’t stop the stalking or (God forbid) she escalates in any way, you’re going to have to bring someone with some authority (preferably a woman) into the situation to talk to her.  it’s kind of the relationship version of the “two or three witnesses” thing only you don’t have to go as far as the whole church discipline route.

if it becomes necessary, bringing in a third party should do the trick.

brace yourself. it’s not going to be pretty.

oh so sincerely,

sharideth

any other advice for our poor soul? suggestions on what to say?

ever been on either side of this situation?

24 comments on “dear sharideth: Stalked by My Ex

  1. Rachel says:

    I faced a similar experience with an ex, and I think I made the wrong choice by trying to become invisible instead. I pulled away from friends because he was tracking down anyone I had marginally known to find out information about me or try to manipulate them into bringing him up to me (at least as far as I can tell). I had a number of conversations with others where I asked them never to discuss me with him or to bring him up to me, and that helped somewhat, but when he called a guy who was interested in me to scare him off and when, after a year, he was still contacting me and trying to manipulate me into marrying him, I finally took it to the leaders of a ministry I served in and told them I felt like I was being stalked and felt “unsafe” at church. (Not that I think he would have ever tried to physically hurt me, but any type of stalking is violating). Thankfully, they knew him as well and called his community group together and told him under no circumstances was he ever to contact me again or he would have to answer to church leadership. Now, hopefully your circumstances won’t ever require such an extreme tactic, but my advice is don’t let it get to that point. If there is another woman who has a mentor/discipleship role with your ex, you might consider pulling her aside and asking her to sit down with the two of your where you share how her actions are making you feel. That would give her automatic accountability and hopefully help her to snap out of it. The one time I sat down one-on-one with my ex only seemed to make it worse, he took that as a sign that we were going to reconcile and starting telling other people that we were getting back together. It’s going to take gentleness, but be VERY clear on where you stand so she can’t spin it around in her head into your renewed affections for her. I hope you can feel peace in your church again.

  2. stephaniewiseman says:

    I have to disagree with Sharideth. There are two sides to every story and we are missing hers. How would she describe your relationship (serious or casual?) and your break up (did she see it coming or not?). Her perception and experience in your relationship is valid, brother. And you’re acting like because you’ve decided it’s over, means unequivocally that it’s over (and she should just “move on” or whatever) makes you, well, an ass. To your own admission this was a relationship. This sister in Christ needs some closure and you need to honor her and give it.

    My suggestion is ask her to meet with your pastor (or other church leadership) to discuss your break up and current dilemma of her “stalking” you. Allow her to express herself and then with the help of the pastor, create a plan for healing with a set time frame. If you were together a year, it’s going to be months, so be prepared. Too, the plan may require you leaving the church for a time or one of you bowing out of the singles ministry. Whatever the plan, stick to it, honor it and allow your sister in Christ time to heal.

    • i guess for the record, i need to let Steph (i can call her that, she’s my OLD friend) and everyone else know, there is a lot more history here than this or even his first “dear sharideth” indicates. i will not post that all here because he has asked me not to, but he and i have been in email communication over this whole thing since before the break up.

      i can understand why you might think him an ass for the clean break, but it’s honestly what’s best for her. i can’t really explain more than that without breaking trust with him, but her issues are much deeper than what you’re getting here on the blog.

      he has been very kind and patient under the circumstances.

  3. Jess says:

    “We both go to the same church functions regularly and neither of us is going to quit just because the other person is present.”

    Look, buddy, if there really is no option of being friends, you need to find another area of church to be involved in. Planting yourself where she can see you having a good time, and having moved on is miserable for her. If you’re in the same small group, transfer to a different one. If you both volunteer in children’s church, try moving to the greeters or after service prayer teams. Insisting on not backing out (while also insisting that you can’t have even a surface friendship) is ungracious. Clearly she can’t pretend you’re not there, so the thing to do is leave.

    (I say this both having been the girl, and more recently as the new girlfriend brought into a situation where exes were competing over the same corner of church.)

    • just an fyi, he’s there year round and has been at the church longer. she’s only there when she’s in school. i understand his not wanting to leave the church.

      • Jess says:

        I’m not saying leave the church, but is there a way where he can be a little less visible? Regardless of who was there first or longest, it’s pretty clear that she’s unable to carry on as normal. Staking out his territory may be his right, but I’m pretty sure Christianity has never been about asserting rights.

  4. I’m going to agree with what you said but add a caveat: If you do the pull aside, I’d have a witness present. Even if we’re not talking bringing them into the conversation first, because I understand and applaud the intent of giving her a chance to change direction without a third party having to add their weight to pressure her into doing so, I’d still have the conversation where someone can chaperon from nearby for safety reasons (both physical safety and if you later have to corroborate your account of what happened in the conversation if she presents a different story).

  5. sydney says:

    I was crushed when my lover of three years left to be with another woman. I cried and sobbed every day, until it got so bad that I reached out to the Internet for help.And i saw a testimony of a spell caster who help a girl called michelle and i said let me give it a try so i contact him for help and he cast a love spell for me which i use in getting my love back and now i am a happy woman.Foe what you have done for me,i will not stop to share your goodness to people out there for the good work you are doing.I hope God blesses you as much as you have help me to get my Love back,visit him on giftedlovespelltemple@gmail.com,he is the only answer to your problems.email him now @giftedlovespelltemple@gmail.com

  6. Jenifer says:

    Hello my name is Jenifer I found a great spell caster online who helped me to get back my husband who has left me for pass 3 years. we where married for 8years without a child and my friend introduce me to a real spell caster named Dr.OKUGBE. For me i never believe it exist but after the meeting of this spell caster my problem where solved and now i am with my husband who left me for past three years, my life and my entire family are now happy now i have two kids with the help of this great spell caster. thanks to Dr.OKUGBE, i would advice anyone in need of help to contact him with this email: okugbepermnentspelltemple@gmail.com

  7. talbott says:

    AM A GEOLOGIST WHO SUFFERED MANY HEART BREAKS FROM WOMEN UNTIL LAST WEEK WHEN I FOUND A TESTIMONY ABOUT A MAN CALLED DOCTOR SOLUTION AND I DECIDED TO CONTACT via:solutiontemple30@gmail.com HIM BELIEVE ME ALL NOT AFTER FIVE DAYS AFTER MEETING THIS MAN MY SITUATION CHANGE AND AM NOW WITH MY OLD LOVER WHO LEFT ME BECAUSE I WAS HIV POSITIVE AND THE GREATEST NEWS IS THAT HE ALSO CURED ME FROM HIV/AIDS. WHEN I ASKED HIM WHAT I COULD DO FOR HIM TO SHOW MY APPRECIATION HE TOLD ME TO SHARE THIS TESTIMONY TO OTHERS THAT’S WHY I AM HERE TO TELL YOU ABOUT HIM NOW. IF YOU HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH ALL THIS I BET YOU THIS IS YOUR TIME TO BE FREE GOOD LUCK AND GOODBYE FOR NOW.solutiontemple30@gmail.com
    J.ALBERT.

  8. Glory White says:

    My name is Glory White this is to testify that priest Oodlia is a great spell caster he brought back my lover in just 2days after both of us divorce 5years ago, now my lover is back and he is the kind of man i want him to be if you are in any kind of problem please contact him for fast spell and urgent response he can also be trusted contact him on his email address on : oodliaspelltemple@gmail.com
    or call his personal phone number for urgent response on +2348076377455

  9. Jenni gouge says:

    Am Jenni gouge, from Canada, Thank you Dr.obasi for the Retrieve, A Lover Spell you cast for me And I’d like to thank you for it. My ex and I have been back together for a month now. And it’s been even better than before. I think this time it’s forever. We’ve been talking of moving in together, and maybe getting married in the future. Things between us are great. I thank you for helping to bring him back to me. After our time apart, we’ve learned to appreciate each other more, and not take anything for granted. Thank you. obasispelltemple@gmail.com after trying and falling through other spell casters and witch doctors i had lost hope , but i thank God for giving me the ability to find you to solve my problems i now can’t imagine that my business is doing better than i thought and i will always live to praise you…. Dr.obasi of obasispelltemple@gmail.com

  10. JOY says:

    My name is joy my ex-husband and I had always managed to stay friendly after our divorce, but I always wanted to get back together with him, and he was never sure. So I thought it was about time I MADE him sure! All i did was to go to the internet to search for a spell caster i visit his email address and a request for a specific love spell, and dr oodlia answered me and He told me what to do for me to get him back after every thing the powers began to work.In less than 23hus my ex husband came back to me again!I just want to say thank you, you can contact him via email oodliaspelltemple@gmail.com

  11. THE MIGHTY SPELL CASTER THAT HELPED ME SOLVED MY CRITICAL PROBLEM.
    I dont know how to really thank Dr Raypower for what he did for me. My Name is Precious from South Korea, i was dating this man who i loved very much for over six years now without any problem in our relationship. so at a point he changed so suddenly after returning from the office and started behaving so strangely. it even got to the extent that he told me it was over and i should never call him again. This was a person that loved me with everything that he had. When i told my friend jenny what happened, she introduced me to a great spell caster called DR RAYPOWER. At first sight this man told me all my problems that it was his secretary that used a charm on him. Dr Raypower told me not to worry that he will help me solve the problem. The following day, i was in the house in a sober mood when i first received a message from my boyfriend that he was very sorry and before i dropped the phone, he called me again to say he is on his way home and that he was truly sorry for everything. To my greatest surprise, one week later he engaged me and we got married. All Thanks to Dr raypower. You can email him at raypowersolutionhome@gmail.com for any problem that you have. once again his email address is raypowersolutionhome@gmail.com

  12. I am so happy to let the whole word know how this powerful spell caster saved my marriage. Everything was going down the drain as my husband can not stop cheating on me with other women. It became used to always heating on me. I tried to make him stop, but I couldn?t help the situation, the more I tried, the harder it becomes. At times we will fight and go apart for some months and we will come back again just because of our kids. One day a friend told me about this spell caster who helped her too, his name is Dr.guruji from india, she said he uses white magic spells to solve spiritual problems. I decided to give it a try, I contacted him and he told me it will take just 2 to 3 days and I will see great changes in my husband. He actually cast a spell, believe me after 2 to 3 days of the spell, my husband was confessing different names of woman he has slept with. He begged for forgiveness and never to try it again. From that day till now, my mind is at rest. My husband dislike every other women on earthspiritualist except me. And am so happy to have him for myself alone. The spell caster?s contact is gurujispellhome@yahoo.com if you have any problem you can contact him for help the man is a grate

  13. An amazing testimony on spell caster who brought my back to me.
    My name is Richard Collins and I’m happily married to a lovely and caring
    wife,with two kids.A very big problem occurred in my family seven months ago,between me and my wife.so terrible that she took the case to court for a
    divorce.she said that she never wanted to stay with me again,and that she didn’t love me anymore.So she packed out of my house and made me and
    my children passed through several pain. I tried all my possible means to get her back,after much begging,but all to no avail.and she confirmed it that she has made her decision,and she never wanted to see me again.
    So on one evening,as i was coming back from work,i met an old friend of mine who asked of my wife.So i explained every thing to her,so she told me that the only way i can get my wife back,is to visit a spell caster,because it has really worked for her too.So i never believed in spell,but i had no other choice,than to follow her advice. Then she gave me the email address of the spell caster whom she visited okosodospelltemple@gmail.com So the next morning,i sent a mail to the address she gave to me,and the spell caster assured me that i will get my wife back the next day.What an amazing statement!! I never believed,so he spoke with me,and told me everything that i need to do. Then the next morning, So surprisingly, my wife who didn’t call me for the past seven {7}months, gave me a call to inform me that she was coming back.So Amazing!! So that was how she came back that same day,with lots of love and joy,and she apologized for her mistake,and for the pain she caused me and my children. Then from that day,our relationship was now stronger than how it were before,by the help of a spell caster.
    So, i will advice you out there to kindly contact him through his email okosodospelltemple@gmail.com if you are in any condition like this,or you have any problem related to “bringing your ex back.
    So thanks to DR okosodo for bringing back my wife,and brought great joy to my family once again. okosodospelltemple@gmail.com or call him +2348034962033.

    Thanks..

Leave a Reply

