what say you?

When you struggle with your partner, you are struggling with yourself. Every fault you see in them touches a denied weakness in yourself.

Deepak Chopra

true? not true? kinda true? you’d better give a “why” in your answer because this will be graded.

 

10 comments on “what say you?

  1. W. R. Woolf says:

    A very interesting theory at least.
    I suppose it’s true to some extent. If a person has low self esteem, they typically take it out on others. And who better than a “special someone”?

  2. Jenn says:

    I think this quote has merit, I often see it when I hear couples say it’s not working, we’re not getting anywhere, often they’re both hitting the same wall and not realizing it. Never mind the fact we all know it is easier to point out someone else’s weakness than your own.

  3. Jennwith2ns says:

    Not true if it means that you’re the only one with the faults. But true in kind of the same way as Jesus’ saying about “in the same way you judge others you will be judged.” I can’t even count the number of times I’ve been hacked at someone about something, and then confronted them about it, and then realised I was exhibiting the same or similar behaviour or attitudes.

  4. kp says:

    That depends on how much you actually care about your partner, and how close your relationship is. Also, I don’t like Deepak Chopra, so maybe I’m fighting him, but I’m definitely not fighting myself about my dislike for him.

  5. asoulwalker says:

    It is true that the things that bother me the most are the things I hate in myself. This is a great reason for me not to date a clone.

  6. tricksy1 says:

    This could be true in some instances or in even in many instances, but definitely not all the time. Sometimes things annoy you because you can’t understand why the other person struggles with it. If something is easy for you, you assume others shouldn’t struggle with it. You might resent your partner’s weaknesses because you feel it should be easy to overcome.
    I guess I take issue with the absolute wording. If they said it was sometimes true, then I’d agree. But I guess that kind of ruins the rules of quoteland.

  7. Deepak Chopra is the king of dime-store wisdom. This quote would be on the clearance rack simply because it tries to fit all struggles into one explanation, which is both kind of hilarious and the essence of Chopra. Instead of trying to salvage some scraps of value from it, I’d toss this quote in the garbage and find some actual wisdom from an actual wise person.

Leave a Reply

