your leap list

chose this pic because it looks like it probably ended badly…

i love list.

this you know.

for the bible tells me so.

i’d apologize for that last line of nonsense, but i’m not really sorry, so…

bucket lists and leap lists are all the rage.  all the cool kids are doing it.  blah blah more cliches blah blah blah.

today, it’s your turn.

i want you to list the 5 things you want to accomplish before the next big turning point in your life.  that turning point could be marriage, cracking 30, having a baby, graduating college, allowing yourself to eat carbs again.  whatever.

make out your with your Leap List.

READY?! OH! KAY!

if you didn’t hear that last line in your head as shouted by a way too perky cheerleader, we probably can’t be friends.

22 comments on “your leap list

  1. Jennwith2ns says:

    Since the next big turning point in my life is next Monday (turning 40), my list’s gonna be short-term but epic:

    1. Finish posting 5 more chapters of my book Favored One on Authonomy.com.
    2. Figure out if I have to cancel one of two weeks of Day Camp due to lack of interest.
    3. Celebrate my birthday early with my hubby of 4.5 months.
    4. Drive three teenage girls to Charlotte, NC.
    5. Do Zumba workout videos from my hotel room in Charlotte via my laptop.

    • Why Charlotte? That puts you right in my neighborhood.

      • Jennwith2ns says:

        Really? Cool!

        My church belongs to the strange and wonderful association called the International Council of Community Churches (ICCC). Said council is having its annual conference in Charlotte this year. My role is to go down with some of our teens to represent our church, and then, in order to avoid the meetings, I help whoever’s running the programme for all the other youth there, too. 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    Before I get married:
    1. Finish my Masters degree in Teaching English as a Second Language (scheduled for Dec 2012)
    2. Go on a mini vacation with my sweetheart and ride lots of rollercoasters (we leave tomorrow)
    3. Look for a job where I can use my new degree
    4. Introduce our parents to each other
    5. Find and bake a killer recipe for red velvet cake (it’s his favorite but I’ve never made it)

  3. Heidi K says:

    The next big turning point is 40, I guess. That’s kind of scary to say, actually.
    1. Get my Level 2 Roller Derby non skating official Certification. Actually, heck, by the time I’m 40, I should probably have at least level 3 or 4. (There are 5 total.)
    2. Visit the continents I haven’t been to. (Or at least Australia and Africa. Antarctica isn’t that crucial.)
    3. Go on more than 3 dates with the same person. (Having a boyfriend would be nice, but let’s not push it.)
    4. Come up with my 40th birthday ‘event.’ (I was hiking the Inca Trail on my 30th birthday.)
    5. Get comfortable with traveling by myself and see the world! Also, officiate roller derby in other countries.

    • susanft says:

      hahah Heiki no 3…there’s one for my leap list too:)

      bungee jumping in NZ – there’s a goal for your 40th

      • Heidi K says:

        I really want to go to NZ. It’s probably going to happen before my 40th. Plus I don’t ever really need to bungee jump. Skydiving was way more than enough scary heights for me.

    • Jennwith2ns says:

      I got stuck in the 3-or-less date category for years, too. I . . . don’t know what to say about that, I guess, since the only options are really unhelpful cliches, but . . . let’s just say the trend eventually broke. Fortunately!

  4. Rachel says:

    I’ve had a Before-30 List since my late teens, when 30 seemed eternally old. Thankfully the closer I come, the more my concept of age is changing. I have accomplished a few of the items on my list and have accepted that I just need to postpone some others, but with 30 only 10 months away, here are the ones I am still planning on crossing off the list this year:
    1. Sky dive
    2. Visit the Grand Canyon
    3. Learn to sail

  5. Jeremy says:

    30 is coming much too fast.

    1. Make some money mixing songs.
    2. Be in a serious relationship that may lead to marriage.
    3. Pay off one of my school loans (I have too many).
    4. Participate in a century ride.
    5. No divorce in 2012! (Friends reference, anyone?)

  6. Oh boy! I am a huge fan of lists… and your cheerleader enthusiasm. 😉

    I believe my next big turning point is the 30-year mark. I have a few years, but my list is reasonable for the time frame:

    1. Publish a book.
    2. Visit 30 countries by 30 (4 to go!)
    3. Learn to kiteboard.
    4. Learn another language.
    5. Buy and modify a new Toyota Tacoma Prerunner TRD Sport Pkg, 6″ FabTech suspension lift, 35×12.50 Baja Claws, M/T Sidebiters, FlowMaster dual exhaust, KC lights, nerf bars, and custom grill.

    Now I’m more excited about today! I love lists. They inspire me to strive harder and keep a positive outlook on situations. All the circumstances of today are bringing me closer to my goals.

    Thanks for today’s post. Super fun! 🙂

  7. Cass says:

    Before I turn 30….

    Graduate college.
    Pay off some loans.
    Get a master’s outside of London!
    Get married.
    Hang glide?

    🙂

  8. I’m going to go sit with Jenn and Heidi in the “people who’ve already passed the 30 milestone” section. I trust that seating is closer to the stage to compensate for our failing eyesight?

    My problem with trying to make a list for my next major milestone (I guess that’d be 40) is that my realist/pessimist side keeps saying “Yeah, where are you gonna get the time/money for that?” every time I come up with a suggestion. I do have a list of things I wanna do “someday”, but most of them are not economically possible for me now nor am I certain that will change soon (or sometimes ever).

    Neverthless, five things on my Wannado list, not in priority order:

    1. Learn to fly a plane.
    2. Travel to visit friends in other states and around the world.
    3. Publish my children’s book.
    4. Learn to dance basic ballroom.
    5. Finish a degree in something or other, just so I’ll have one. They’re not really all that important in my industry anymore, due to the general irrelevancy of most of their courses in a rapidly changing environment and an excess production of educated idiots, but sometimes you need a degree to win an argument with an educated idiot. :>

  9. asoulwalker says:

    You know I tried to think about a list, but I couldn’t think of what the next “big milestone” would be. I already turned thirty but forty is still seven years away. I have already crossed off a lot of things on lists already… and I find it extremely difficult to figure out what my next milestone will be… And without that in mind it is apparently (I am finding out right now) very difficult to make a list that seems meaningful in anyway. I find this very interesting. Does anyone have any milestone suggestions for me?

    • Heidi K says:

      I had a similar experience. I had all of one thing on the list. At which point I started having a small existential crisis about not having goals. So I started making crap up. All that to say, I got nothin’ for ya.

  10. Lauren Jean says:

    1. Make it to 30 countries by 30. I’m at 19 countries, and am 24.
    2. Be more open with people.
    3. Go and sing Karaoke.
    4. Audition for a play/movie.
    5. Write a script from my days at #152.

  11. I wouldn’t know how to choose a “turning point” or what’s realistic to aim for, for the most part – I also hate “to-do” lists in general (although a well-defined schedule is good).

    That said, before the end of this year I intend/hope to:

    1/. Finish the first draft of my novel
    2/. Appear on a talent TV show (although not Britain’s Got Talent)
    3/. Visit my dad’s home town and search for family history records
    4/. Find a new social group to participate in

    But every day is a success if I keep to my schedule and the world keeps turning.

  12. Lauren says:

    1. Find a way to make summer camp last forever
    2. Backpack across the world. The whole thing. Just everywhere.
    3. Find another weird person who is somehow willing to spend the rest of their life with me.
    4. Save a life. Preferably in a dramatic, action movie way. Might have to ninja kick somebody. Just kidding. I’m not that egotistical.
    5. Have babies. Like a trillion little ginger babies running around. Maybe not a trillion. Maybe just two. And they will be cool because they are mine and my weird person’s and I will smoosh their little faces.

  13. I wanted to write you one tiny remark just to thank you over again for these gorgeous things you have featured above.
    It was certainly unbelievably generous of people like you to offer
    unhampered all that many individuals might have offered for an ebook
    to generate some dough on their own, most importantly seeing that you
    could possibly have tried it if you ever desired. Those thoughts in addition served to be
    a good way to be sure that many people have the identical
    dreams just like my very own to learn a good deal more in respect of this
    matter. I think there are numerous more pleasurable periods up front for individuals
    who discover your blog.

Leave a Reply

