are you an April fool?

i have 5 friends with birthdays on April’s Fools Day.  and being the egocentric megalomaniac i am, i can only wonder what that says about me.

there’s also the MegaMillions drawing this weekend.  over $500 million.  dollars.  dooolllllerrrrrrzzzzz.  good grief, the Red Vines i could buy with that.

so here’s a couple of questions:

what is the best/worst April Fool’s joke that you’ve played on someone/has been played on you?

what would you do with $500 million smackers?

9 comments on “are you an April fool?

  1. G Fresh says:

    A few years back, Mike and I convinced a TON of people via his Facebook wall that he had knocked up some girl in Portland (this was shortly after he’d moved back here from there) and wasn’t sure if he should “do the right thing” and marry her or not. His mom finally called us on it towards the end of the day. Awkward.

    If I had $500 million I’d give a bunch of it to various ministries and charities I believe in, make a bunch of my friends’ and families’ dreams come true, hire Craig to record and mix an album for me, invest a few mil, put the rest in the bank and live off the interest.

    Also, I would do a lot of sleeping in for about a week before I started taking classes on music, art, gardening, knitting, woodworking, car repair, all the things I’d love to be able to do better, but don’t have the time or energy (or money) for right now.

  2. Abby says:

    Two or three years ago, my brother-in-law announced that my sister was pregnant with their first baby (and first grandchild on both sides)… on Facebook… on April Fool’s Day… without telling my sister. She was confused when she started getting text messages and calls from friends to see if it was true. Before he ‘fessed up (hours later), the “news” had already circulated to his relatives in other states, even the ones not on Facebook. Let’s just say some people were quite miffed at him. Coincidentally, they are expecting their first in October, for real this time.

    If I had millions, I’d set up endowments to support several ministries that I already contribute to. I’d also set up Aunt Abby’s Scholarship Fund (with GPA, campus involvment, and community service requirements) for my future nieces and nephews. And then I’d visit Morocco because I’ve wanted to go for years.

  3. If I had millions, I’d have all the camera gear I could imagine and no pressure to take pictures for money. At this moment that sounds DREAMY.

    In all seriousness, though, I want to think I wouldn’t do everything drastically different if I had millions than I do now when I have…not-millions. I don’t think I would enjoy having an unnecessarily large house and a stupidly expensive car. Not that I don’t like the idea of really nice things, but after 30 years of regular things I’d just prefer to be a regular person with an average residence and a car that can suffer the rigors of daily use in Michigan without my worrying about it. I wear jeans and a t shirt every day, I like McDonald’s, and I don’t own a suit or even a tie. The more I think about it, the more I’m wondering if that much money would just be wasted on me.

    What does appeal to me is the idea of not having to worry about having enough money for whatever comes up. But then I’m reminded that God has commanded me not to worry about anything, so…

    #jesusjuke

  4. bethagrace says:

    My sister’s birthday is on April Fool’s, so when she had friends over, they would get their birthday kicks by pranking me. None of the pranks were incredibly clever, but neither was I, so it worked out.

    If I had $500 million, no more support-raising for Bethany! And I’d pay off student loans, and buy a car with a working driver’s side door handle and AC.

  5. 500 million eh? Well the usual – pay off my debts. I think I would pay for everyone’s tuition for a year at the graduate university I attend plus a good donation to the building fund. And yes buy a house in the area where my fellow students could live rent free. That’s where I would start.

  6. asoulwalker says:

    I would take what was left and move somewhere with different “tax-law.”

  7. Jennifer says:

    I am a fourth grade teacher. This year, when I discovered that April Fool’s Day is on a Sunday, I may or may not have hit my knees in thanks to Jesus that I didn’t have to listen to/participate in nine-year-olds’ attempts at prankishness.

    My favorite thing to do with them is to give them a fake test, and grade it very poorly so they can give it to their parents as a prank. They love it, and it takes the focus off of me as the victim.

    And as for the $500 million, several children I know would go to college, several people I know would get houses and reliable cars, and I would do all sorts of fun things.

  8. Chad Jones says:

    It wasn’t April Fool’s, but earlier this year I created a Facebook profile for Ricky Anderson (who hates Facebook), and convinced all his friends on there that it was him. Oh, and I made sure that all of the notices were forwarded to Ricky’s email (arthur2sheds@gmail.com). Good times!c

  9. Chad Jones says:

    It wasn’t April Fool’s, but earlier this year I created a Facebook profile for Ricky Anderson (who hates Facebook), and convinced all his friends on there that it was him. Oh, and I made sure that all of the notices were forwarded to Ricky’s email (arthur2sheds@gmail.com). Good times!

    And at the end, Ricky himself pronounced it a “great prank.”

Leave a Reply

