relationship advice from kids

the girls love my son.  he’s 11.  why do they dig him so much?  because of his chocolate brown eyes?  because he can climb a tree like a chimp?

no.

it’s because when the best friend of a girl who likes him comes up and says, “Caitlyn likes you.  do you like her?”  his response is always, “tell her i’m not interested.”

and then of course he gets confused about why the best friend is so mad at him.  he was just being honest.

girls adore my son because he’s not into them yet and constantly rejects them.  do the psychology on that one.

i give it about 6 more months.  maybe less.

here are some other kids being honest about relationships.

what weird thing did you think about relationships as a kid?  or that a kid said to you that you knew wasn’t true?

7 comments on “relationship advice from kids

  1. Jen says:

    Those are so funny!! Freddie’s cynicism makes me a little sad, though. Makes me wonder whether he’s regurgitating his [divorced] mom or dad. Derrick made me LOL.

  2. Well, my nephew (who is now 8) is insistent that he wants to marry me and my sister (his mom). So, there will be that chat to have with him when he’s older 😉

  3. Jenn says:

    The whole “the one” business. My biological grandmother died in a car accident when my dad was a child, and my grandfather remarried the amazing woman that I can my grandmother. Both women were/are amazing – so I couldn’t figure out why he got two of them.

  4. bethagrace says:

    My brother had a crush on his friend, Emily, and on our older sister’s friend, Lisa. He told Lisa he would marry Emily first, but Lisa should wait for him because he would marry her when Emily died. We still tease him about that. 🙂

  5. My six-year-old niece is very concerned about my marital status (probably because my five siblings are married, so I’m the strange one). Just yesterday she asked me, “”Have you STILL not married anyone? Are you EVER going to get married?” She’s very sincere about it — she’s truly concerned that I’m not married. It’s great.

  6. asoulwalker says:

    If you listen long enough…

  7. Jessica says:

    I’m 31 and readily admit that if played correctly the “not interested” bit works for us too 🙂

Leave a Reply

