How to Flirt With a Woman

more from Dr. Paul!

i bet he practices not blinking in the mirror.

ladies, would his earring line make you all tingly?  especially when delivered by his droopy, dead shark eyes?

guys, give this a shot this weekend.  let us know how it goes.  but i don’t recommend trying it on anyone you might actually be interested in.

13 comments on “How to Flirt With a Woman

  1. Bethany says:

    I love how he disclaims his tips with “they work.” I guess he realizes how hard we all find it to believe that he’s actually getting any action.

  2. atkins5614 says:

    I think he only blinked 13 times in those 2 minutes. 10 of which were in the second minute. That guy is a machine.

  3. I haven’t watched the video yet, because I clicked on it and the first words I heard of dating advice were: “Hello. I’m Chef Boyardee. I make real Italian ravioli….” Gotta love the commercials before the video!

    • Grant Rice says:

      This is unreal. What is with the candles and the martini glass? Stop trying so hard, Doc. Also, FWIW, I can tell you from experience, that the best way to get the results you want is to practice in front of ACTUAL WOMEN!

  4. Debbie says:

    Heehee. He makes me giggle. Can’t wait until the next episode to find out how he picks up women who.. gasp.. aren’t wearing earrings. Huh. Didn’t think of that, Doc, now did you?
    P.S. If a man complimented my earrings, I would be a little creeped out. Don’t get me wrong, “you’re hot” doesn’t work so well either .. but maybe just try being sincere?

  5. Actually, it sounds like classic pick-up artist (PUA) advice. First, he advises against approaching using a generic compliment. Next, he gives an example of a subtle “neg”. Qualifying his statement with, “I bet it took you ages to find those” plays with the idea that there’s something underneath those words, the idea being to make a woman try to justify herself to him. On its own, “nice earrings” is a compliment but qualified, it’s a “neg”.

    PUA advice tends to be creepy and unethical in general, so I’m not impressed. That said, a lot of it is tested “in the field”, so it works at least some of the time, so I see no reason to doubt his belief that it works, at least in certain types of environment.

    As for “look in a mirror” – I can’t seem to do that without making exaggerated expressions (that’s if I’m not outright gurning or laughing at my exaggerations) so I don’t think that’s going to work very well for me. Somehow, I have trouble delivering any spoken lines to a mirror and keeping a straight face.

  6. asoulwalker says:

    This guy is comedy gold. He has a disturbing smile that makes me consider hiding. Dead on with the shark eyes. I’ve seen sharks… they look like lifeless machines. So does he.

  7. I like what Snowdrop said about the pick-up artists. Ofen the guy who’s looking for a relationship but isn’t confident with women casts his eyes to the pick up artist when looking for how to approach a woman because they’re the guys that seem successful. They can and do get a girl most anywhere. But their objective is to get a bed, not a relationship. And their methods are keyed to that. I can totally see the earring thing working, not because every woman would fall for it but because the target woman would. The target woman is the kind who’ll go home with a stranger that night, and you really only have to be a little more interesting than anyone else on offer. It works on its target audience.

  8. Regan says:

    I almost didn’t watch it because that guy is just creepy.

    I don’t wear earrings, but I have been complemented on my jewelry before and I liked that. Complementing women on their clothing, hair, or jewelry can only be a win. But don’t use that guy’s body language because he’s just creepy. Ick, ick, ick. I need a shower. 😛

  9. The candles and ‘Hef-like’ smoking jacket really tell you all you need to know… wow. This should have been done on Saturday Night Live, I’d prefer to see Eddy Murphy perform it though, it’d be more believable. Yes, don’t try so hard. Relax, be real, be yourself, and the best gifts will find you. They will. I wonder if Target sells those jackets…

  10. Jennifer C says:

    I had a guy complement me on a sweater I was wearing. Then, he petted it… in the lobby of church. I was kind of trapped between him and another creepy guy who often commented on my clothes and a somewhat normal guy who just stood there in horror at what he was witnessing. All of the above= ways to NOT impress, well, anyone.

    All of that to say, it really creeps me out when a guy I don’t know complements me on any physical aspect of my being. Could be something I need to work on, but that’s how I roll.

    • “it really creeps me out when a guy I don’t know complements me on any physical aspect of my being.”

      Just curious: what do you think the best way would be for a guy you don’t know to compliment you, or should a guy who wants to get to know you not use a compliment at all but use a different approach?

Leave a Reply

