twitter twaddle: #thatsaturnoff

oh Twitter…you and your ridiculous hashtags sometimes make my job so easy.  here we go.

1.  I found out you’re actually my daughter #ThatsATurnOffDarth Vader

2.  If I can outdrink you #ThatsATurnOff  okay, so you want someone who drinks more than you do and you don’t know “out drink” is 2 words.  awesome.  got it.

3.  Stop it with the #ThatsATurnOff. Everyone’s not perfect and so are you. i keep going back and forth on whether this was intentional.  it’s funny either way.

4.  If you beat your women, you deserve to be single. #ThatsATurnOffif you beat your women, you deserve to be in jail.  honey, that’s not a turn off, that’s a felony.

5.  You smell ugly, #ThatsATurnOffHelen Keller

6.  You hate my crimped hair?? #ThatsATurnOff90s Girl Problems

7.  females not educated #ThatsATurnOffalso sentence fragments

8.  Getting sorted into Hufflepuff #ThatsATurnOffThe Dark Lord

9.  when you say you don’t like Justin Bieber… #ThatsATurnOffi don’t like Justin Bieber….’s music, but i’m sure he’s a very nice infant pop star.

10.  Telling me how much you care for me.. But staying with another girl just for convenience.. #thatsAturnOFFknow what else is a turn off?  girls who date guys who are already with someone else.  boom!  eat it!

okay, your turn.  hit us with your top 5 turn offs.

17 comments on “twitter twaddle: #thatsaturnoff

  1. Jenn says:

    1. Not into reading books, cookbooks, magazines – whatever, really nearing 30, this turn off has relaxed slightly but given I’m going towards a PhD in English it’s kind of requirement – that being said you don’t have to be formally educated.

    2. Being rude and bad tipper – if you don’t respect people you don’t know well you don’t deserve to know me.

    3. Inactive – you don’t have to be training for the Tour de France, but if you think sweating will make you shrivel and die then find someone else.

    4. Bad shoes – You know I feel so shallow doing this Sharideth, but the truth is I judge a man by his shoes – and then the rest of course, but the shoes make the first impression.

    5. Pro-war/fighting/violence – I am an ardent pacifist, so if you have an NRA connection or anything of the like while I respect your freedom to do so, respect that I will be walking away from the date.

    • asoulwalker says:

      Number five intrigues me. I have never met a genuine pacifist in real life. Now I know not all pacifists have a unified set of beliefs, but I’m intrigued none the less.

      Also, I have never met anyone who was pro-war in person, either– but I was in the military and I’m guessing someone who was actually pro-war would be someone who didn’t really know what war was and never would have to go themselves.

      • Jenn says:

        I have talked to people who have served and still think military action should be the soul focus of a government – the world police mentality. And I’ve talked to those who have not served and see any type of pacifist belief as an insult to those who have. #5 is normally the deal breaker in all my relationships – I was raised in a socially normative Mennonite home – ie. I went to public school and could have worn a two piece if I wanted – the only rule, the only thing that ever matter in our home was violence was bad – any form – but given that both my parents came as refuges, it makes sense that war shaped their lives in a way that we in North America have no foundational concept of. That’s normally where I struggle in the communication of this idea – if you’re not the super power, if it isn’t about “defending your freedom” and it’s about just surviving the perspective is very different.

        I don’t know if that answers your question. I respect that there are individuals who feel that military action is noble – that is their choice, and I do not seek to say they are wrong or right. For myself I grieve the loss of every soldier and civilian, but I also believe all the deaths in some way are in vain.

    • Sophia says:

      I’m new to this blog, so forgive my seemingly untimely comment. 🙂
      I just wanted to say that pacifism is also really important to me (and thankfully my boyfriend!). It’s a way of life. Incidentally, he and I have learned much of it from our dear Mennonite friends.

  2. I did have to chuckle at this one: 7. females not educated #ThatsATurnOff – also sentence fragments
    Hilar!

    I think grammar and misspellings. ESPECIALLY with people’s names. My last name is not a hard one but gets misspelled all of the time. Even when they are writing on my wall on Facebook… my name is RIGHT there. 🙂

  3. Jennifer C says:

    #1– Being a rude driver. If you honk the second the light turns green, cuss at slower drivers, weave in and out, etc, you can pull over and let me out.

    #2– Against reading or makes fun of readers.

    #3– Believing that overseas mission work is stupid or unnecessary.

    #4– Completely obsessed with gaming.

    #5– Having a dirty, bigoted, and/or racist sense of humor.

  4. Brian says:

    1. Bad teeth. It does not take much time to take care of your teeth. Please, do so.

    2. Close-mindedness when it comes to music. You don’t have to like all types of music, but you better be appreciative of it. If you don’t appreciate the music of Hanson and U2, that’s a deal breaker.

    3. Self-righteousness. They more holy you try to tell me are because of the things you do and don’t do, the less I believe it.

    4. Being on a constant emotional roller coaster. Yes, I know some days suck, but don’t tell me your life is the worst each time you have a bad day. We all have bad days. Get over it. I don’t mind comforting you, but you saying you’re having the best day of your life, followed by you saying you’re having the worst day of your life (on a weekly basis) is too much for me.

    5. Disrespecting and/or hating on parents. Your parents aren’t perfect. Nobody’s are. They may even wronged you, possibly intentionally. That doesn’t give you reason to hate on them and constantly talk bad about them. Is that how you’re going to talk about me when I’m not around?

  5. Kp says:

    #1 – chewing with your mouth open. (actually a deal breaker for me.)

    #2 – you never make decisions. I want you to seek my opinion, but if I say I don’t care, it’s not a test. Pick something you like.

    #3 – you think the new Star Wars are better than the originals. Same thing goes for the new Indiana Jones.

    #4 – you squeeze the toothpaste from the middle. It actually says on the tube to squeeze from the end!

    #5 – you are unwilling to try new things.

  6. G Fresh says:

    In no particular order:

    1. Holier than thou and/or super sheltered in your beliefs. As a Christian, the number one quality I look for is a woman who shares my faith and is serious about it, but if you are shocked by someone using an occasional profanity, drinking adult beverages or going to R rated movies, I’m not interested. Also, if you don’t have any friends or acquaintances outside of your church and especially your faith, you’re doing it wrong.

    2. Super aggressive/suggestive flirting; especially if I barely know you and rarely interact with you. That’s just kind of creepy.

    3. Daddy issues. I ain’t your papa and I don’t want to be treated like I am.

    4. Someone who doesn’t take care of themselves. I’m not looking for a fitness model or anything like that (although I wouldn’t say no to that either. 😉 ), but I enjoy working out several times a week and eating healthy most of the time and I’d like someone with whom I can do that.

    5. If you don’t like chivalry because you’re a womyn, dammit, and you don’t have time to let me hold the door for you because you have some roaring to do.

  7. Bethany says:

    1. Holding the door open for the girl you’re crushing on and letting it slam in the next girl’s face. Or, put another way, don’t think I’m so self-absorbed that I don’t notice how you treat people who aren’t me.

    2. Bad teeth: Because I can’t fall in love with someone who is literally rotting away before my eyes.

    3. Can’t intelligently discuss politics and theology. You’re not off the hook because you agree with me; you have to know *why* you agree with me.

    4. Doesn’t read for recreation. It just is (see #3).

    5. Isn’t working on his faith, like, all the time: Because I want to be that person. If you aren’t trying to be that person, too, then you’re just going to hinder me and I’d rather be single.

  8. I posted about my deal-breakers and turn-offs (and turn-ons/must-haves) here. Here’s a shorter version of the list (sorry, couldn’t trim it down to five):

    Five deal-breakers:

    1/. Tobacco smoke.
    2/. Political views I can’t help but view as evil (e.g. homophobia/transphobia/racism/neo-con/Ayn Rand etc).
    3/. Judging prospects/ambition/worth by financial measures alone, not spiritual ones.
    4/. Hypocrisy/double standards – especially “men are this, women are that”.
    5/. Jealous or controlling behaviour (e.g. trying to exercise a veto over my spending time with my female friends).

    Big turn-offs:

    6/. Too busy to fit in a relationship (especially, always travelling – implies being unable to settle down and enjoy life for what it is).
    7/. Puts herself down on appearance or intellect.

  9. Regan says:

    Deal-breakers, huh?*

    1. He capitalizes words in a Sentence that are neither the first Word of the Sentence or a Proper Noun. Will be Overlooked only when I Travel to 1776 with Marty McFly.

    2. He doesn’t like the smell of cheese. Can’t do that. I can’t give up cheese even for Christian Bale. Well, maybe for Christian Bale I could do it.

    3. He makes fun of President Bush. I adore President Bush. No kidding. He’s my favorite, right up there with Calvin Coolidge. I swear, the next person that does this is going to get a sock in his mouth. One that I peel off my foot.

    4. When I tell him I’m allergic to wheat, he says, “But you can still eat white bread, right? Yeah, when white is a grain, I’ll eat white bread.

    5. He has posted a photo online of him taking a picture of his reflection in a bathroom mirror. Extra bonus deal-breaker if he is throwing deuces in the photo. The only conclusion I can draw from this kind of photo is that none of his friends are bright or dexterous enough to use a camera.

    *In case my humor falls flat, I would like to state that this entire post is entirely unserious. Except the part about W.

    • Jenn says:

      #4 – oh dear – yes I feel your pain, I almost feel like I need to carry around pamphlets describing what wheat/gluten are – but really people are we so far removed from understanding the components of our food that I need to?

    • Jennifer C says:

      #1 Would it be OK if his first language is German, and he is still trying to figure out English?

Leave a Reply

