why i don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions

Dear Gym Memberships,

You’re welcome.

Love always,

New Year’s Resolutions

want to feel like a real failure in 30 days or less?!  have i got good news for you!  buy my Guide to Making New Year’s Resolutions for the blowout price of any number that ends in 99 cents and you too can have a hard time looking at yourself in the mirror!

blergh.

i am not a fan of New Year’s resolutions.

really sharideth?  i totally didn’t pick that up from your opener.  thanks for clearing that up.  *sarcastic font*

maybe you love them and they’ve worked out really well for you.  awesome.  good for you.  *nonsarcastic font*  if that’s the case, i’d love to hear about it in the comments.

for me and most people i know, they don’t work.  ever.  e.v.e.r.r.r.r.r.r.r.r.r.

do i want to drop 20 pounds?  yes.  do i want to get my book finished?  yes.  do i want to make sure Craig has clean socks everyday?  yes.

but i don’t need to make some arbitrary resolution to see those things get done.

i need to set goals.

in my world, sometimes those goals are on a day by day basis.  like today.  my goals are to stay below 20 grams of carbs, clean my house from top to bottom and buy a 9 volt battery.

if i don’t manage to get that accomplished, i’m going to get up tomorrow and try again.

but sharideth, what’s the difference between a goal and a resolution?

eight letters* and how it makes you feel when you don’t get it 100% right.

the moment you miss the mark on a resolution, you feel like a failure and the resolution is over.  with a goal, that’s just a set back.  it’s mental.  one is devastating, the other can be mobilizing.

am i good at goals?  no.  not even a little bit.

i use to be.  i use to be real good at goals.  which makes the me i’ve become very frustrating to everyone including myself.  so one of my goals this year is to become better at goals.

yeah, i know.  bare with me.

i’ve set my goal for today and it’s completely doable.  i have a date in mind i want that 20 pounds gone by because i’m going to meet some people who i would like to remember me for something other than my double chin.  i can take my first step to get there right now.  no waiting for January 1st, no big hype, no big pressure.  just a decision.

if i fail today, then i’m going to go for it again tomorrow instead of thinking, “welp, i blew it already.  guess that resolution is a bust and i’ll punish myself by letting the gym continue to withdraw automatic payments even if i never go.”

this is all making sense in my head, but i’m not sure i’m communicating it very well to you….

i guess my ramblings amount to this:

1.  don’t set yourself up for failure.

2.  accomplish something today.

3.  set a date for a bigger accomplishment and circle the crap out of it on a calendar.

resolutions be damned.  i’m off to buy a 9 volt battery.

do you set New Years’s resolutions?

have you ever succeeded with one or more?

what is THE one thing you’d like accomplish this year?

do you have a plan to get it done?

*it’s only 6 letters if you allow for the fact that those words share an “o” and an “l”.

6 comments on “why i don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions

  1. Jenn says:

    It wasn’t necessarily a New Years resolution, although I think I decided around that time in the winter of 2008 I decided to run a half marathon (darn Runner’s World and their marathon calender – seriously the most lethal of all their publications)… and slapped my money down on the run and the flight almost immediately – so I had a goal and motivation. It worked, that was the first of 5 halfs I’ve done in the last 2 years – I’ve done two marathons as well.

    I agree to say you’re going to lose 20 pounds – it is not going to happen. If however you say you plan on doing that by reducing your soda intake by half or whatever and starting yoga – then you might just do it.

    The one thing I plan on accomplishing this year is getting my dad across the finish line at his first marathon. And surviving “suicide Hebrew” this summer.

  2. JWo says:

    Sounds like we are on the same paths.

    I’m not big into goals either (http://thelifeofjwo.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/key-to-success-don%E2%80%99t-aim-high/) but I recently decided the wife and I needed to start getting back into shape.

    I decided that since I’m a lot closer to 40 than 30 that it was time for us to get started on a workout plan.

    Last night was the first session… http://thelifeofjwo.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/too-early-to-get-turbofired-up-for-2012/

    Years ago I hated the “Resolutioners” that would flood the gym in January and February but now I guess I’ve become one of “those people” now. But that’s why working out in the basement is much more better. hahaha…

    Hang in there!!

    JWo

  3. My BIG resolution for 2012 is…….drum roll please………To lower my expectations, be more realistic and to take each day as it comes! I know, I know, absolutely brilliantly right?

  4. chickstyle says:

    I like your point of view I have never see it like that before but yes it is better to set goal and focus on what you want to accomplish next year.

    xos

  5. Bethany says:

    I’ve never set a New Year’s resolution, for your exact reasons. If it will be bad for me in the new year, then it’s bad for me now… so I just end up setting resolutions on a day-to-day basis. Still upsetting when I fail, but the 50th time’s generally the charm.

    Come March, I’ll be starting my second year of support-raising to be a home missionary with Gospel for Asia. I’m constantly developing new plans for how I’m going to get in the rest of my support. I figure if I try everything, I’ll hit on whatever it is God wants to work through. 🙂

  6. […] resolutions years ago and switched to setting goals for myself. What’s the difference? My friend Sharideth taught me this one: The difference between a resolution and a goal is eight letters. And how it […]

Leave a Reply

