post Christmas debriefing

here’s some questions for you?.!,

1.  have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?

2.  did you have to travel to get the goods?  where to?

3.  whadja git?

4.  what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?

5.  what’s the worst thing you got?

6.  did your family butt into your love life?  how?

7.  gift cards?  to where?

8.  do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?

9.  are you returning anything?  what?  have you ever returned anything?

10.  what did you want that you didn’t get?

go.

16 comments on “post Christmas debriefing

  1. Jen says:

    My MIL is officially on an electronic gift giving ban. *facepalm* Seriously, she bought us a blu-ray player that doesn’t have wifi (the wifi adapter costs more than the unit). She bought the girl a $20 mp3 player. She bought the boy a fake laptop. She wanted to buy an $80 tablet. Luckily, I stopped her from that paperweight. Yes, I know I sound ungrateful. No, I don’t care. She would’ve been better off saving her money and adopting a needy kid.

  2. Jennifer C says:

    1.    have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?

    ·         Yes. It was kind of scary. My 8 month old niece contributed a lot to the mountain.

    2.    did you have to travel to get the goods?  where to?

    ·         If you consider less than 10 miles traveling, then yes.

    3.    whadja git?

    ·         I was spoiled. I won’t even try to deny it. My parents really surprised me this year by getting the bigs on my wish list—a new flat screen TV and blu-ray player for my room, a new car stereo, an ‘e’ necklace with diamonds to represent my niece and her birthstone—among other things. It was insane.

    4.    what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?

    ·         I gave my mom a locket style necklace with a clear front that has our family member’s (6 as of now) birthstones “floating” inside. It’s cool because if I ever get married and have kids of my sister and her husband have more kids, we can order the birthstones individually. My family got my dad a straight shaft trimmer that he wanted, and we surprised him with a sound bar… that doesn’t work at the moment.

    5.    what’s the worst thing you got?

    ·         My family is really good at not getting me “worst things”. However, (not being greedy or ungrateful) my sister and her husband, due to “lack of money”, got me socks and nail polish that I probably won’t wear and some blush/ bronzer that is not quite right for me. They are seriously cheap. If they really didn’t have money, I wouldn’t care, but they always shaft our side of the family and spoil his side.

    6.    did your family butt into your love life?  how?

    ·         No. They never do. I think they’ve given up. However, I confided in my mom to get some totally irrational thinking out of head and heart. I told her that I am afraid whoever marries me won’t think he “married up”. I know that’s ridiculous, but I needed to get it out. I came to the conclusion that I am too hard on myself. She came to the conclusion that I am too hard on myself and too picky. She proceeded to explain that I don’t give guys a chance if there is something I don’t find “compatible”. She said I immediately write them off because they don’t meet some unattainable standard. I asked her for an example, and she couldn’t give me one. I told her that I have never had the chance to “write someone off”. She said, “Yeah because you’re too picky.” It simultaneously hurt my feelings pretty badly and confused the mess out of me. I honestly believe she thinks my standards are too high. I don’t have unreasonable standards. I want to marry someone with my same beliefs and has similar convictions. I don’t have a physical type or expect him to be THE ONE. I can take constructive criticism, but if you can’t back it up, it’s an insult.

    7.    gift cards?  to where?

    ·         No gift cards.

    8.    do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?

    ·         Yes, but I rarely see her. She’s my dad’s mom’s sister.

    9.    are you returning anything?  what?  have you ever returned anything?

    ·         Unfortunately, I am returning some body lotion that was supposed to be perfumed with my favorite scent. The lotion smelled like the bottle and Desitin at the same time. If I wanted to smell like Desitin, I’d just carry my niece around all the time.

    10.  what did you want that you didn’t get?

    ·         A million dollars, a boyfriend, peace on earth, goodwill to men.

  3. 1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?

    There was no wrapping paper at my house. Sacrilege, I know, but with money pretty thin we pre-determined what would be bought to get a few things the whole family could enjoy, so there was only one mystery and it wasn’t worth wrapping by itself.

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?

    Only if you count traveling to Wal-mart to make one of the purchases. :>

    3. whadja git?

    The parents and I are all into Lord of the Rings Online, so we each got a points card for that. The Netflix subscription has been re-upped for a few more months as well. Oh, and some friends brought over an absolutely scrumptious red velvet cake.

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?

    Animusic 2 dvd for the whole family.

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?

    Nothing qualified for this distinction.

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?

    Nope.

    7. gift cards? to where?

    None for Christmas, but a birthday one to Amazon from a friend.

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?

    Nope.

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?

    Not returning anything. I think I did return a sweater one year, but it was the wrong size rather than hideous.

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?

    I don’t know. I’m sure I could make a long list of things I’d like to have, but everything I got was something I wanted, and I know where we are financially, so I’m not really disappointed in anything.

    Actually, I do know one thing: more time off. But we have deadlines to make, so that’s not happening any time soon. :>

  4. Jenn says:

    1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?
    There was no paper this year – we’re all about the not wrapping

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?
    Not really – my dad’s house and then my grandparents and then my mother’s – all in driving distance

    3. whadja git?
    Money

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?
    My words – yep those I love got my gratitude in word form

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?
    Bath stuff from my aunt

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?
    No, they learned when I had my botched engagement that we do not discuss my personal life at all
    7. gift cards? to where?
    Grocery store
    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?
    No one – kind of wish I did – we’re a small family so I don’t have those kinds of aunts
    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?
    Nope
    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?
    More money – sounds really greedy – I know but I’m a graduate student weeks away from hanging around the food bank. But I know both my parents are in the same situation this year with the way the economy is.

  5. asoulwalker says:

    Return something? Yeah, ’cause I need more errands.

  6. 1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?

    Why dig out? Just use it for extra insulation! (There really wasn’t that much wrapping paper, and yes, it’s all gone.)

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?

    Nope. It all happened right here.

    3. whadja git?

    Shoes (which I wanted) and my second-favorite nerdy game, Settlers of Catan.

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?

    We did a white elephant among the adults in my family. This was my contribution:

    Seriously, I’ve had one of those sitting around for probably 15 years now. It needed a new home. It got one.

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?

    What I got from the white elephant was an old travel iron. Like, the flattening fancy clothes kind of iron. Do you know the last time I wore a shirt that needed ironing? I’m not sure, but I think it’s been a couple years. I hate shirts that need ironing.

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?

    Nope. That doesn’t happen much. It might happen behind my back (or in front of my back, or whatever would make sense), but I don’t hear it these days. That’s fine with me.

    7. gift cards? to where?

    None. To nowhere.

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?

    Nope. I don’t have much in the way of extended family, and what I do have isn’t nearby.

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?

    I’m not sure the travel iron stuck around. Honestly, I don’t know where it is right now.

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?

    Uh…the Detroit Lions are going to the playoffs for the first time in twelve years. I have no cause to be disappointed about anything this Christmas.

  7. Brian says:

    1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?
    Yes, most of the unwrapping happened at some place other than mine.

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?
    I did not travel at all.

    3. whadja git?
    I got a luggage set and jeans. My gift from my lady friend is on the way. She bought it at the Lego store at Downtown Disney. I’m excited about it

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?
    A dress to the girl mentioned above.

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?
    Axe body spray

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?
    Nope

    7. gift cards? to where?
    Nope

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?
    Aunts are suppose to buy you stuff?

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?
    I’m not returning anything.

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?
    A voucher for a flight

  8. Jennifer says:

    1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?
    Yes. We did it once at my home, and once more again later in the day

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?
    I started at my parents house in DFW and then hopped on a plane to a magical land called Lubbock, to spend the week with the part of the family that doesn’t make me twitch uncontrollably. Don’t worry. I brought goody bags of chocolates to the plane crew so I was the favorite passenger. It’s the least I can do since they are working on Christmas to take me to my family.

    3. whadja git?
    a kindle fire was my big gift from The Uncle, and I also got a good bit of shoes and other miscellaneous grown-up gifts.

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?
    I made The Sister an old window turned chalkboard and a wreath. I tried to go with more semi-home-made gifts this year.

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?
    A random pair of sketchers fur-lined slip-ons that I’m still a little unsure about, and one of my students noticed that I like skittles, so she got me a 54 ounce bag of skittles. I will be tasting the rainbow for weeks.

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?
    Not too much. The sister always put emphasis on the word boyfriend when she was discussing hers, and The Aunt is really interested in setting me up with her hairdresser’s son.

    7. gift cards? to where?
    I’m a teacher at an affluent school, so I’ve got a small little tin in my purse with the multitudes of gift cards I get. It’s a definite job perk.

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?
    Um. Aunt? no. Mother? yes. Gee mom, thanks for the music box that plays “I could have danced all night…” The only acceptable music box gift for the 30+ crowd is one that plays the Lexus theme.

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?
    I exchanged a dress. I do typically return more than I’ve had to do this year…

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?
    A new pair of Toms. Instead I got a pair of fur-lined sketchers.

    • Exception to your musicbox rule: Getting a musicbox for a 30+ person is acceptable if that person collects musicboxes. I got a friend a lighthouse musicbox for Christmas one year for just that reason.

      Similarly, getting toy soldiers for a 30+ person is acceptable if that person is a wargamer or a toy soldier collector. After you’ve acquired your first thousand of anything, no amount more of them is likely to make you any stranger in the eyes of the general public, I find. 😉

  9. G Fresh says:

    1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?

    There wasn’t much of that. I didn’t get anything to open and my nephews only opened the things I got them on Christmas morning because they were saving the big present opening-pa-looza for that evening which I was unable to attend because I was at one of my grandparents’ houses.

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?

    Yes. Northeastern Indiana; Fort Wayne to be exact.

    3. whadja git?

    A Wal-Mart gift card which I used to offset the cost of the new Zelda game for my Wii. Not gonna lie, it’s pretty awesome.

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?

    A Nintendo 64 with the Indiana Jones game. There’s a story behind that, but trust me; uber-thoughtful. 😀

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?

    A few extra pounds although not as many as I thought I would get.

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?

    Surprisingly no. I think they’ve all given up finally. Although for a minute there, I thought my grandmother was trying to hook me up with some random 3rd cousin of mine who lives here in Nashville. Turns out she’s married and grandma just thought we should meet and be friends.

    7. gift cards? to where?

    Wal-Mart and I just got another one from my boss to Logan’s Roadhouse.

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?

    My aunts don’t buy for me although I did have one send me a check for some gas money so that was cool.

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?

    No, but I did exchange that Wal-Mart gift card for part of another item. Does that count? Also, I’m planning on returning those holiday pounds as soon as I can. It’s a few sizes too big. 😀

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?

    A rabbit in a hat with a bat and a ’64 Impala.

    • You didn’t have anything to open? *gasp*

      • G Fresh says:

        Nope. After my parents split up and moved to different states 15 years ago, the family Christmases kind of stopped happening. They send cash now for birthdays and Christmases and I’m totally cool with that. You don’t really have the same kind of Christmas anticipation with checks, but at least I know I can get something I actually want. 😀

        And there’s really no gift giving amongst the members of my extended family.

        As far as my own personal gift giving goes; I can really only afford to buy for my nephews and occasionally a little something for my brother and sister-in-law and maybe a couple random friends here and there who I think could maybe use a pick me up. This year I made quite a few hats and scarves and have the half healed blister on my finger to prove it. 🙂

        • Ah, I see. That makes sense. It is true… not as surprising but having the cash to pick out something you can’t afford otherwise is a nice gift too. 🙂 And I love the homemade gifts idea… blisters will heal… maybe. 🙂

  10. 1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?
    Yes ma’am.

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?
    That I did. About four hours east and over the mountains to grandmoth… oh wait…

    3. whadja git?
    A stellar cutting board, a coffee mug with a picture of me holding my nephew and niece, a Sony e-reader, gift cards to Outback Steakhouse and Target, wall hangings, WOW 2012 (oh yes, I have them all).

    4. what’s the most awesomest thing you gave?
    I only give awesome gifts but if I had to choose, I’d say this one. It got some tears. Booyah. http://imageshack.us/f/51/christmas2011360.jpg/

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?
    Poop coffee. But it wasn’t really all that bad… in fact, it was actually delicious.

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?
    Yes and no. I wouldn’t really call it butting in because we have an open relationship (this is with my immediate family, btdubs.)

    7. gift cards? to where?
    Target and Outback Steakhouse. nom nom nom.

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?
    Gift giving is really just between my immediate family… aunts and uncles haven’t bought me gifts since I was a kiddo… many moons ago.

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?
    I have returned/ exchanged things before but this Christmas I think I’m keeping everything as is. I might exchange a CD I got.

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?
    I was hoping for a Keurig but with my gift money I think I might just go get one.

  11. Bethany says:

    1. have you finally dug yourself out from under the wrapping paper apocalypse?
    Yes. Tradition is that we gather it all up in a trash bag and then BURN IT ALL! Sadly, this year it was so warm that no one really wanted to hang around the fire inside, and no one would take on my idea of a Christmas bonfire outside.

    2. did you have to travel to get the goods? where to?
    Nope.

    3. whadja git?
    The big things were $200, a sewing machine, and an electric toothbrush.

    5. what’s the worst thing you got?
    Nothing. 🙂

    6. did your family butt into your love life? how?
    No, but my sister and I did discuss, just tonight, how our standards for men get higher the longer we’re single.

    7. gift cards? to where?
    American Express. My aunt and uncle wanted to make up for missing graduation and… maybe last year? So they gave me $100 in gift cards. So psyched!

    8. do you have that one aunt who still buys you gifts like you’re 9?
    Let me repeat: $100. And a cute scarf. 🙂

    9. are you returning anything? what? have you ever returned anything?
    When I was a sophomore in college, a local church’s seniors each adopted a girl from our wing and sent us presents throughout the year. I got a Point of Grace CD for Christmas and my roommate, upon seeing my distaste for it, told me I should just take it to the Family Christian Store and exchange it. That was four years ago, and I still have the CD sitting in a drawer. I think I’ve finally worked up the guts to do it this year–maybe enough time has passed that the little old couple won’t sense the return. Or maybe they’re just dead now….

    10. what did you want that you didn’t get?
    There was only one thing I missed… but it arrived late in the mail and I got it a couple days after! 🙂

Leave a Reply

