happy Thanksgiving eve

this is my favorite Thanksgiving cartoon...

just like last year, i was going to write a comical Thanksgiving post and just like last year, Bryan Allain did it better.  his annual tryptophan rant is something everyone should experience at least once.  so go do that.

but before you go, let’s get cliche’!

what are you thankful for?

what (if anything) are you contributing to the food coma tomorrow?

are you hosting?  are you guesting?

how many people are going to be at your gathering?

if you live in Canada, how’s your Thursday looking?

8 comments on “happy Thanksgiving eve

  1. Jenn says:

    1. I am thankful for people who feed my poor grad school self

    2. If it were Canadian Thanksgiving or Christmas – my GF stuffing

    3. I will be occupying the library

    4. A lot – it’s reading break

    5. My Thursday is looking very unfun – it’s me, the library and a Julian of Norwich 10 page history paper

  2. i am thankful for having my parents with me for Thanksgiving. <——–this sentence was interrupted because my dad hugged me and said he's thankful for my love and respect and now i'm all weepy-like.

    i am contributing the bulk of the meal. turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, pistachio salad, wine, cider, pies, 4 different appetizers; my dad bought a ham, i'm cooking it…

    pretty sure i've forgotten something.

    hosting. obvi.

    we'll have somewhere between 13 and 15; including Matt Gates and Michael Deppisch who you might know from such blogs as…mine. who knows how many though. people just tend to show up at my house…

  3. G Fresh says:

    what are you thankful for?

    All the new friends I’ve made in the past year or so online (Mandie Bast, Joy Eggerichs, Joseph Craven, Stanton Martin, Kristen Kitti, and on and on and on—you know who you are) and in real life; the people in my two Bible study groups, my brand new friend Jiffy and especially, and with all sincerity, Sharideth and her family.

    what (if anything) are you contributing to the food coma tomorrow?

    Strawberry Kickasses

    are you hosting? are you guesting?

    Guesting, but contributing more than just my stomach. I am available for clean-up duty, Sharideth. 🙂

  4. Bethany says:

    what are you thankful for?
    I’m a third of the way to being a fully supported home missionary! I’m thankful for all the people who are a part of that third, and all the people I hope will be soon.

    what (if anything) are you contributing to the food coma tomorrow?
    I’ll peel potatoes, probably make a vegetable, maybe mash aforementioned potatoes. I do the easy stuff. 🙂

    are you hosting? are you guesting?
    It’s just me and my immediate family, so I’m neither hosting nor guesting. There will be five of us.

  5. Chris says:

    I’m thankful for lessons that come at me from unexpected places.

    But really, there’s so much to be thankful for, I think it’s impossible to list it all.

    So I guess that just leaves rejoice and be glad. 🙂

  6. what (if anything) are you contributing to the food coma tomorrow?
    Raw herring

    are you hosting? are you guesting?
    I’ll be guesting

    how many people are going to be at your gathering?
    The traditional 33

    if you live in Canada, how’s your Thursday looking?
    Funny you should ask. Before the pilgrims got to the land o’ the free, they had a lay-over in The Netherlands (ask Wikipedia). We celebrate our own version of Thanksgiving a week before yours. It’s called ‘Grote Dankjewel Dag’, to be thankful for getting rid of all the pilgrims. True story.

Leave a Reply

