10 questions about the holidays

being single during the holidays can blow harder than some other analogy that blows super hard.  so here’s some questions for you…

*questions that will in no way become fodder for holiday posts over the next 7 weeks.  nope.  not at all.*

1.  do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?

2.  who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?

3.  who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?

4.  have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function?  how did that work out?

5.  have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up?  how did that go?

6.  on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?

7.  what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?

8.  have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?

9.  have any of your relatives tried to set you up?  what happened?

10.  what’s on your Christmas list?

43 comments on “10 questions about the holidays

  1. Rachel says:

    Love all of your questions, Sharideth. Sounds like pretty good rom-com fodder. I am very close to all of my family, and thankfully, there is no real insanity there (though perhaps it is all because we are equally insane and therefore just love each others’ personal batch of crazy). And because there are so many of us (7 siblings, 1 brother-in-law, 2 neices, and 2 nephews) it’s (mostly) hard to feel lonely over the holidays, though I always seem to find myself lonely on the drive home from work on Mondays regardless.

    I wanted to sort-of answer #7, though these comments were not awkward so much as humorous.

    1). I disciple a group of 7th grade girls. Last year, we were studying the story of Noah. One of the girls remarked that if people still lived to be 600 years old, they (at the ripe old age of 11) “would still be very young . . .” (a pause, while she considered my coleader and me) “even YOU would be young.” Ouch. “Wait,” she continued, “how old are you?” To my response of “27,” she countered, “Shouldn’t you be married already?” Helpful.

    2). After his recent birthday party, my 5-year old nephew exclaimed that “I can’t believe you’ve never had a husband!” Following that, he shared something “that might be helpful to you, Auntie Ro.” Apparently the knights at Medieval Times take roses to the ladies in the audience when they are on a break. He wants to set me up with the Blue Knight. THAT’S what I’ve been doing wrong this whole. I should have been looking for a real knight in shining 21st century armor. I always thought that was a figure of speech fed to Disney-infected little girls.

    I’m excited for the time to just celebrate the holidays with my family and friends, stay up late and make hot cocoa for my roommate, build a cozy fire or two, stare at the lights on my Christmas tree, dance around to Christmas carols, bake something packed full of carbs that I can’t possibly eat by myself and will have to give away, read as many books as possible, and enjoy where the Lord has me right now for his purposes.

  2. I once WAS a date for a Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone was on their absolute best behavior. And I married him. And now NO ONE is on their best behavior.

  3. G Fresh says:

    1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?

    Mostly look forward to it with the exception of a couple of relatives that kind of set my teeth on edge.

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?

    My grandmother on my mom’s side although I think she’s finally given up hope as indicated by her, “Well, I guess God doesn’t intend for everyone to get married.” statement from last Christmas that I’ve shared on here before.

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?

    That person doesn’t exist. My family kind of sucks when it comes to that.

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?

    No, but I did invite my buddy Mike to a family Thanksgiving 8 or 9 years ago because his family was gonna be out of town and he couldn’t go and didn’t have anywhere else to go. I…got a few strange looks until I explained the situation… :oD

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?

    No. Neither of my two relationships lasted long enough for them to get to the “meet the fam” part.

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?

    Give me a baker’s dozen paper cuts and pour lemon juice in them first.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?

    My younger brother’s wedding kind of sucked. EVERYONE was asking me if I was dating anybody/was I ever gonna settle down and get married/are you a bachelor for life/etc? It, no joke, got so bad that I had to make my apologies to my brother and his wife and leave shortly after the reception started. I wasn’t even able to stay for the cake cutting, first dance, any of that. It was a dry wedding so there was nothing I could have done to make the night more enjoyable other than what I did. That was 8 years ago and it still sucks to think about. Thanks for dragging up those memories, Sharideht. 😉

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?

    No.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?

    No. Thank God. I shudder to think what they would believe my “type” to be.

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?

    That is an entry that I’m going to write for my own blog after Thanksgiving is over so you’re just gonna have to wait. 🙂

  4. Love this blog! Hopefully some men will read and learn!

  5. 1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?
    I love seeing my extended family, as Thanksgiving or Christmas seem to be some of the only times a year that I see them. My immediate family… I always love seeing them!

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?
    My Grandma on my dad’s side. Every time I talk to her she asks me. I tell her, “no Grandma, I still haven’t met anyone”, to which she replies, “when are you going to get on that Amy?” Oh, Grandma.

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?
    I am probably one of the most picked on people in my extended family (or family even). I like to make people laugh, and a lot of times at my own expense. I guess you could say I’m the family [class] clown. With that said, my mom and dad always have my back if things go awry but mostly, everyone just picks on me and I don’t mind because it makes them laugh. 🙂

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?
    Nope. I’ve never had a boyfriend. 🙂

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?
    Nope. Same answer as #4.

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?
    I don’t mind at all, to be honest. It doesn’t bother me one bit.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?
    I don’t find it to be too awkward when being asked about my single status. While I could probably give a few funny stories the most recent one was such where the person asking me felt realllllly awkward. I just joined a worship band at my church and one of the guitarists and I were chatting. I attend a multi-campus church and we were at a smaller one. He was talking about how excited he was for this worship team to come together to bring life at this particular church. And talking about how all of the single people keep leaving, blah blah blah. He kept going off on the single people. I just had to kind of smile… I mean, I agreed with him and all but then he says, “so, what does your husband do?” And I just had to laugh and say, “I’ve never even had a boyfriend.” Oh man, it was funny to hear him apologize. It didn’t bother me… I found it to be quite humorous 🙂

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?
    Yes. Not to anyone I know. To strangers who have asked me out. I used to do that some times but now I just straight up say I’m not interested rather than lying about it. I think everyone feels better about that.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?
    There have been talks of setting me up. One of my uncles is a firefighter and he said he wanted to set me up with one of his co-workers. Then he paused and said, “nah, none of them are good enough for you.” ha!

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?
    To make it to see my family without snow getting in the way. Am I crazy for wanting to drive instead of fly over the pass? 🙂

  6. I’m the youngest of six, and all of my siblings are married and have kids. I mostly look forward to family gatherings because I have a great family, but I do carry a little bit of dread. Being the only one can get old.

    I once had my kindergarten-age niece ask me very sincerely why I don’t have a wife. (Since all the other adults around are married, I guess it seemed strange to her that I’m not married.) My sister later told me she started praying for me to find a wife. It’s hard to be irked by that. But then again, it’s just another reminder, so…

    Finally: on a scale from one to “I’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”? I’d rather take TWO bullets to the thigh. Two to one, I mean — not one to each.

    • Rachel says:

      I feel you! Though thankfully only one out of our eight is married with kids. Same kind of thoughts from the kindergartner though. What is getting hard is that my younger brothers are on the cusp of marriage. I love them but kinda want to punch them in the face for that. Is that wrong? Can’t they just hold off and let me hang on to the illusion of my youth for as long as possible?

  7. reneamac says:

    1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?
    I look forward to it. I often look more forward to gatherings with fewer children in tow. I like kids; don’t get me wrong. But when they’re all together for extended periods of time, it affects my preferred state of calm (sometimes, admittedly, for the good).

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?
    My grandmother.

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?
    My mom. (And they have essentially backed off.) (Dad and Brother tie for close seconds though.)

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?
    No (much to my grandmother’s chargrin).

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?
    No. (Tip: Always breakup in April or May. Then you’ve got a good month or two before 4th of July festivities.)

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?
    I’d reather take a bullet… anywhere. Caveat 1: But I also hate the now-we-don’t-know-what-to-talk-about avoidance. Caveat 2: Sometimes it’s important to have uncomfortable conversations. Caveat 3: If we aren’t honest about how these conversations make us feel, we deserve to be shot in the thigh.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?
    I’ve blocked them out.

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?
    Not oughtright, though sometimes I respond to “Are you seeing anyone?” with, “Not today.” as if I date more regularly than I actually do.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?
    Yes. Nothing (good… or bad, thank goodness) came of it. I trust this particular relative; she can set me up anytime.

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?
    What I’d really like to ask for is Lego Harry Potter for Wii. What I will probably ask for is money for plane, hotel, etc. to present a paper at a conference in Georgia. Ah, the life of a poor grad student.

    • Rachel says:

      I like your response to the question “Are you seeing anyone.” I might appropriate that, if you don’t mind. I’ve tried “I’m seeing YOU,” but only got a blank stare followed by the even more awkward attempt to explain what her question had meant. As if I wasn’t perfectly aware.

  8. susan says:

    DREAD IT. don’t discuss it. over it.

  9. Bethany says:

    1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?
    My extended family lives too far away for that, so the only “getting together” is my sisters coming home–which I love.

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?
    Among my four siblings and cousins, two are married. I’m something-teen years younger than my oldest (unmarried) cousin, so all the grown-ups were over the nagging before I was old enough to date.

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?
    Nope. Last Christmas, my sister had her fiance over for part of Christmas morning/afternoon. Considering that no one knew she was even dating anyone the week before, I’d say we did pretty well.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?
    Well, there’s always the old standby when a friend, wondering why you’re single, tells you *she’d* date you if *she* were a guy. Greeeat.
    Mostly, I just think it’s awkward when people ask me to explain at all. I’m a traditionalist and I’m not going to ask a guy out, so I guess I’m single because I don’t bat my eyelashes enough? Why not ask the *guys* why I’m single?

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?
    Nope. I’m not embarrassed to be single, and I would feel bad about lying.

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?
    Books, music and a laptop case to look trendy with.

  10. Jeremy says:

    I dread the holidays for a little bit of a different reason. My wife decided to tell me that she no longer wanted to be married around Thanksgiving in 2008. Before that I spent 6 years happily being part of 2 family functions every holiday. No one asks about my singleness, though. So that’s good. But I do love my family and my nieces and nephew. We have a blast together.

  11. HopefulLeigh says:

    1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?
    I adore my parents and absolutely love my mom’s side of the family. The best thing we can say about get togethers with my dad’s side is “at least nobody cried this year.”

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?
    My aunts. I know they love me and all but…

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?
    My cousin Jon or my mom

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?
    Nope but I did take a few friends to our family reunion- it’s huge and fun, tons of food, always a good time. My aunts, of course, still ask about whatever happened with my friend Ryan.

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?
    Nope

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?
    I’d like my bullet now.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?
    The most recent occurred at my younger brother’s wedding 2 weekends ago. It was a dry wedding, first of all, which did not help the boredom factor. I didn’t think they’d be doing the bouquet toss because they’d neglected other wedding traditions but of course, they did. As soon as they announced it, I turned on my heel and walked to the opposite side of the reception hall. That makes it sound roomy, it was a rather small room. My brother’s friend was the DJ and called me out by name and status over the microphone to get me to participate in the bouquet toss. Standing with the 3 20 year olds and 5 teenagers was so not happening. The DJ didn’t understand the death glares I threw his way and tried for a few more minutes but I sat in my chair until they moved on.

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?
    No, but sometimes I’ve implied there’s more potential than exists.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?
    Dear God, no. My parents will mention nice single guys they’ve met but they’ve never tried to set me up.

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?
    A treadmill and lots of books and CDs.

    • Jess says:

      I really hate when I forget to be in the ladies’ room when they announce the bouquet toss. Imperviousness to death-glares and an utter lack of shame are both marketable skills in the DJ industry.

  12. Bekah Hope says:

    I mostly look forward to holiday family gatherings (especially Thanksgiving) because my birthday is also around this time (November 26th!) so it’s always been associated with good things (read:PRESENTS) for me.

    And of course everyone asks if there is a man in the picture. It’s always a little awkward/embarrassing to say no..year..after year.. But since my younger (by 16 months) sister is in the same boat with me she has my back usually. I will say this: My sister and I have teamed up to cook the ENTIRE Thanksgiving feast for the last few years. Pies, casseroles, turkey, the whole shebang. And every year my aunts, uncles, and older sisters insist that “You girls are gonna make some great wives one of these days!” Oh. Wow. Yeah. Um. What do you say to that? It’s getting old.

    So I’ve obviously never brought a date to dinner, but we do make a point of inviting those that don’t have other family in town. Or we contact the local university’s association for internationals and invite a couple of foreign students over to experience the traditional American Thanksgiving. It’s always a lot of fun to share our customs and learn about theirs. Introducing them to my Oklahoman aunt and uncle is entertaining to say the least. Conversation usually requires translation for both parties.

  13. Rachel says:

    Sharideth, being single and getting to write about our single experiences with other singles is fun. Friday night kind of fun? Apparently. Time for me to go clean my bathroom.

    Thanks for your blog!

  14. Jess says:

    1. depends on who’s coming. Some relatives are awesome. Some are very, very weird.

    2. The aunts!

    3. the aunt and uncle who caught me at work the day after a heart-breaking have gone easy on me ever since. 🙂

    4. Thursday will be my first time bringing a date, and being a date. we’re splitting dinner/dessert between families. I’m a bit nervous about it, since his ex went with him last year, and he’s a bit afraid of his fam pulling the “oh, this is the NEW one, huh?” card

    5. nope

    6. keeping it in perspective that these are, for the most part, people who care about me, I mind it a lot less than I used to.

    7. Dads need to stay out of the matchmaking biz. Just…no.

    8. sometimes I wish I would have, but it’s always an afterthought.

    9. see 7. you know that dinner set-up scene in My Big, Fat, Greek Wedding, where suitors are brought home for dinner in a continuous sequence? it usually ends up being like that.

    10. a ski-lift ticket!

    • Rachel says:

      Jess, I once went over Christmas to meet a boyfriend’s family. His sister actually called me by his ex-girlfriend’s name repeatedly during my stay there. At first, I decided I just wouldn’t respond when she did that, thereby hoping she would realize her mistake and correct herself and not feel awkward. Instead, she repeated her mistake only louder, which made my ignoring it awkward. C’est la vie.

      • Jess says:

        Rachel, that’s horrible! I’m a bit comforted to think that whatever happens can’t be as bad as that. But of course if it is, I’ll let you know 🙂

  15. Chris says:

    I don’t get asked too often. And if I do get asked, I don’t mind it too much, but I tend to answer briefly.

    There was one humourous comment years ago from my Grandma though. In talking with her after I had just moved into my own place, she commented: “Well, now you have the cage, all you need is the birdie.”

    I still chuckle at that one.

  16. 1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?

    Yes to both. Look forward to seeing them, because I love pretty much all of them. Dread, because if it’s a big family gathering then my introversion makes it a nightmare, however lovely everyone is. I don’t deal well with big groups.

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?

    No one does. In general, when it comes to worrying about my single status, I’m my own worst enemy/critic/whatever.

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?

    In that sense, it’s not needed because no one is a pain about it. I guess if someone was a pain about it, I could rely on a few people to get them off my back: assuming my assertiveness abandoned me (as it sometimes does).

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?

    Sadly, I have never had a partner at the same time as there being a family function. Somehow the periods of dating have not coincided with family dos.

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?

    Never.

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?

    It’s rare they do ask, and since there’s never any ulterior motive or pressure involved, it’s not a problem for me. As mentioned already, I am by far the worst offender against myself in these matters.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?

    It eventually got to the point where I had to explain to my loved ones that I’m kinky, and “normal”, “vanilla” relationships will never work for me, because it was just too awkward to try to work around that fact, and I hate lying to people – it would feel like I was shutting out their love. That was a nerve-wracking decision to take, because I really didn’t know whether they would still be able to accept me after that (thankfully, they did and do!) It may, however, explain why I don’t get many questions about relationship status!

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?

    No. I’m bad at lying in general! (In addition to my previous answer)

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?

    Never. When I’m on a drought of potential girlfriends (like now, in fact) I almost wish they would sometimes!

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?

    Music, kitchen gadgets, fun.

  17. Regan says:

    1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?
    I look forward to it because my family is FUN. 🙂

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?
    Some of my first cousins. But since they’ve gotten older and are also not married, they’ve backed off. lol

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?
    No one. I take care of myself. 🙂

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?
    No, I have never done this, and I dread ever having to do this, because I know that poor man will be judged like a Holstein at the state fair.

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go? Uh, yeah. My grandmother was understanding, but my grandfather told me about this one teacher he knew who never got married. Thanks, Grandpa! 😦

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?
    It’s ok… I guess. It doesn’t bother me very much. So maybe a two.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?
    Hmmm, well today one of my students asked me “Which teachers do you think are good-looking?” Students always want to hook me up with other teachers and that can get very awkward with the other teacher. I’ve also had students hypothesize about WHY I am single (they decided it was because I was so strict, lol). Haha,and there was that one time, when my younger sister was getting married when my mom said, “I don’t want you to feel bad because your younger sister is getting married before you.” And I said, “I didn’t feel bad until you said that, Mom.” 🙂

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?
    No, I don’t think so.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?
    My brother-in-law used to try to set me up a lot. And I’d ask, “Does he go to church?” and he’d say “He doesn’t, but he knows he should.” And I’d say, “Hmmm.” and that would be the end of that. I wouldn’t mind being set up, but I don’t expect them to know what I’m looking for.

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?
    Bath towels, because I really need new ones. Since I’m not married I didn’t get any as wedding presents. I never went out and bought any; I used the ones that my sisters and friends got as wedding presents that didn’t match their colors. Sad, isn’t it?

  18. Kristen says:

    I once had to attend a family vacation right after a break-up. The ex was supposed to attend this vacation with me & a spot had been reserved for him. (One issue that had ignited our tumultuous breakup was his lack of desire to go on said vacation…and my whole family knew it.) At every meal, there was an extra empty chair that no one spoke of. Though I later walked in on my entire family discussing how awkward/sad that must be for me. No, family…it’s awkward when you talk about my love life behind my back.

  19. Since I’m now married I’m answering these retrospectively from years of practice at being a single-ton!!

    1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?
    Look forward to it up until it actually happens, but then once I’m with them I get very quickly peed off by constantly being made to feel like the family black sheep / failure for not being married and producing children, like my perfect older siblings have all done.

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?
    Elderly members of the extended family, while they were still around. Closer family figured I’d announce it if anything happened so they tended not to grill me too badly.

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?
    Umm… there never was one.

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?
    Nope. Even when I had dates I a) never had the guts to take them along, and b) didn’t want to inflict that experience on anyone I was ever seeing anyway. For extended family get-togethers the grilling the poor guy would have got would have even the most dedicated date running for the hills.

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?
    Yep. I phoned my sister beforehand and asked her to pass the word round that on no account did I want to discuss it. Worked pretty well!

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?
    Make that a bullet to the head and I’m right up there with ya.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?
    You know how sometimes as someone asks a question, everything else suddenly goes quiet and *everyone* hears? Well one of my aforementioned elderly relatives did that to me. The whole family was wondering where I was at with dating but were being too nice to ask, but when Great Aunt Maud put the question to me, just as the whole room went quiet, everyone stopped and it was blatantly obvious that the whole room was waiting to hear my answer. Nightmare!

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?
    Nope. My [lack of] dating status is what it is. Referring back to Qu 1, my family make me feel inadequate enough without me inventing men to keep them happy.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?
    No, thank goodness. Anyway, I live too far away from the rest of them to make a relationship with any of their friends viable.

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?
    Not much at the moment. I’m pulling a bit of a blank this year!!

  20. I love my family, and I really miss living with them. Yes, the singleness questions get really old. but honestly, so do the dating questions. I actually prefer the singleness questions.

    oh and by the way, friday is you’re welcomgivingday. for real. Who could make that up. http://www.holidays.net hahaha

  21. 1. do you look forward to or dread getting together with family/extended family?

    Look forward to Christmas dinner and spending the rest of the family reunion playing with the non-judgy pack of second cousins ages 12 and under.

    Dread the post-dinner present distribution. My 93-year-old great Aunt gives monetary gifts every Christmas. Every single grand-kid gets a balloon with a bill in it. Either $1, $2, or $5. (as my cousin said last year, “oh yeah, this is where she forgets it’s not 1940”). Every married grand-couple gets an envelope with a check for $25 or $50.

    I am 32, the oldest single grandkid, and I get a balloon. My 22-year-old cousin who just got married last year gets an envelope with $50. I purchased my own home a few years ago and furnish it with gifts from my parents and garage sale purchases; he and his wife rent an apartment furnished with expensive wedding gifts. It’s not that I’m desperate for the money, but it does seem a little unfair, and I tell you, it just gets more awkward every year with the balloon. Thinking about sneaking out before this little bit of family painfulness this year.

    2. who’s the worst about grilling you about your single status?

    I’m old enough now that no one SAYS anything. They just avoid me.

    3. who’s the family member who always has your back and tells people to lay off?

    My brother, whose girlfriend lives far away, has my back when he’s paying attention. My sister and I can exchange eloquent looks about the craziness of our family, but this year her boyfriend will be there for the first time so she’ll probably be a *little* distracted.

    4. have you ever taken a date to a family holiday function? how did that work out?

    I always bring people who are without family to Thanksgiving, and it’s fun. But most people do seem to have family for Christmas, so I just usually play with the little kids at Christmas and avoid adult conversations like the plague.

    5. have you ever had to make an appearance at a family function right after a break up? how did that go?

    Nope, never had a relationship get to the meet the family stage.

    6. on a scale from one to “i’d rather take a bullet to the thigh”, how much do you like being asked by family about your singleness?

    My great aunt (same one who gives out the money) asked me 4 times on Thanksgiving if I was older than my sister (the one with the new boyfriend). Since she’s also deaf, she criticized what I was wearing full-voice to my grandmother.

    If someone asks me about how I feel about my sister dating seriously, I think answering with “how many tears do you want to see tonight?” would stop inquiries.

    7. what’s the most awkward thing you’ve been asked or the most awkward situation where you’ve been asked about your single status?

    The facebook “friend-suggest” has happened more than once. “hey, here’s my single friend, and I don’t care enough to facilitate an actual setup date, but I’ll suggest that you two become friends and hope for a big-bang type of thing where you put the right molecules in the same space and hope they “take”. You’re single, he’s single…Perfect, right?”

    8. have you ever lied about being single just to get people off your back?

    No, although I often wish I could wear a ring to scare off the creepers. Except for the chance that it’s more likely to scare off sane potentials.

    9. have any of your relatives tried to set you up? what happened?

    No. They often discuss it, but never do anything about it. (I consider their lack of motivation inordinately luck.)

    10. what’s on your Christmas list?

    Tires for my car. I hate doing work on my car or dealing with it in any way. I need new tires, and I’d rather have that for Christmas than anything else. May seem boring, but it would be my favorite thing not to have decide on it myself.

Leave a Reply

