just say no

i don’t do video blogs.  you’re about to find out why.

i apologize.

girls, who’s guilty of the uber lame blow off?

guys, tell ’em what you want.

19 comments on “just say no

  1. Katie says:

    Love it. And you look hot today. 🙂

  2. Jenn says:

    I haven’t done it before in that context. I have however turned down a last minute date in an area of town I wouldn’t be able to bus to and from easy and the date was way past my bedtime on a work night. But I expressed that it wouldn’t work and I was happy to do dinner the next week.

    I would say that if it was a date asked for properly (ie. formally asking we’ve discussed this here already), and you’ve given her enough time, then she does owe you a proper explanation of the reneging or a suitable rescheduling.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Totally agree with you on this.

    Also, I see no reason why you shouldn’t do more video blogs. 🙂

  4. riggs says:

    nothing but brutal honesty. please. or just hit us in the face like sharideth suggested… it’s much better.

  5. Hit me in the face. You won’t be the first woman to do so.

    I think most girls are just scared they’ll have to go into a lengthy explanation about why they don’t want to be with the guy, which means they probably don’t even want to talk to him, so the explanation will mean talking to him longer. Instead, she hopes he just gets discouraged on his own.

  6. reneamac says:

    I love this post. Thanks for breaking your anti-video-blog mold. It was definitely the way to go.

    It’s certainly been my experience that guys prefer a direct yes or no. Generally, women aren’t really brought up socially where it’s ok to use direct speech, so this goes against everything we’ve all been taught our whole lives about being passive aggressive and “politely” indirect.

    Sometimes I find it helpful for women in this dilemma to practice with a guy friend who can help affirm that it really is okay and is actually more considerate.

    We say we don’t want to hurt his feelings, and that may be partly true, but I also think we just don’t want to do the hard thing and be honest.

    Great post.

  7. nathan says:

    @ Jenn

    “I would say that if it was a date asked for properly (ie. formally asking we’ve discussed this here already), and you’ve given her enough time, then she does owe you a proper explanation of the reneging or a suitable rescheduling.” Yes, I’d second this.

    And yeah, I’d rather just have a woman say, “I’m not interested” or something like that then play a few rounds of lame excuses, or have the slow fade (i.e. calls or e-mails infrequently for awhile before disappearing.

    But hey, you can’t always get what you want.

  8. The unicorn shirt was greatly appreciated…however only a true unicorn lover would have noticed. I suggest you wear the same shirt for the next video with a larger shot so he gets more air time. Well done!

  9. Chuck says:

    I can only pray that over the course of however long the earth still exists, every woman will read this blog. One of the big tip-offs to me that my wife was a keeper was that she did not commit this sin. But the girls before her…

Leave a Reply

