how Bryan Allain is helping the lovelorn in at least 6 countries

what’s with that title, aside from being ridiculously long, you ask?  okay, so maybe you didn’t ask, but i’m going to tell you anyway.  some of you know i’ve been in Bryan Allain‘s BlogRocket beta class.  it started in january and ends this month.  three months of analyzing my whole process, trying new things, revamping the layout and in general, looking at every thing i do here with new eyes.  namely, Bryan’s eyes.  so he may not actually be the one giving relationship advice to people in at least 6 countries, but he’s sure helped me do it more effectively.  the Open Letters and Dear Sharideth stuff was his idea.

Bryan’s super power may blogging, but i’m convinced he must be some sort of romantic genius.  have you seen his wife?  sorry Bryan, you’re adorable and all but she’s way out of your league. many of my readers need to know how you pulled that off.  time for a guest post, my friend.

gauntlet thrown.

i know that most of you have your own blogs.  you have stuff to say, too.  if you are considering getting more serious about your honing your voice and expanding your audience, here’s some things that happened for me while going through the BlogRocket experience:

  1. expanded audience – i’m averaging 3 times the hits on my blog today as i was when i started BlogRocket.
  2. i’ve gone global – i have people in at least 6 countries subscribed to my blog.  at the end of december, it was only 2, the US and Canada.  which is really like only having one.
  3. the formatting is better – some of Bryan’s first words to me, “I hate your layout.”  he’s like an encouragement ninja.
  4. more focused writing – i like words.  i use a lot of them.  Bryan’s way of telling me to keep it to the point, “Nobody has ever told me my blog was too short.”  point.  taken.
  5. wisdom in the specifics – on a couple of different occasions i had questions about situations that came up here on the blog.  Bryan responded immediately with practical advice.

i’m about to name drop.  you’ve been warned.  you’re welcome.

my blog was recently reviewed privately by Jon Acuff. and here’s one of the things he said, “Honestly it was hard to find things to review because your blog is so great already. Seriously, the big mistakes I have been helping other people with are not present on your blog.”

sound like i’m bragging?  well, i am, but the real point is that my blog is what it is in large part due to Bryan’s help through the BlogRocket program.

Acuff also said i’m a master of the short answer.   *that was bragging in cased you missed it*

this whole thing sounds like a sales pitch, right?

it is.

take some time to consider your blog and what you want to do with it.  if you have a clear vision or no clue, it doesn’t matter.  there’s something for everyone at all levels in the BlogRocket program.

i am honored to have been in the guinea pig class and would do it again in heart beat.

bloggers, shamelessly plug you blog today and tell a little about your purpose.

who’s from where?  hit us with where you’re from and maybe how you found me.

oh yeah, all that bold type placement i do…totally Bryan Allain inspired.  so there.

20 comments on “how Bryan Allain is helping the lovelorn in at least 6 countries

  1. kristinherdy says:

    My blog is http://www.messiahmom.wordpress.com. It’s what you get when you take jumbo shrimp, stuff them with jalepeno and wrap them in bacon.

    To review, that’s jumbo shrimp (me), jalepeno (spicy life stuff) and God is the bacon (that’s so not Kosher!)

    Besides weird metaphors, I like reading stuff like your site, which, I found through Katie McNemar and have been reading ever since. I’m from Houston (sorta). I also rely too heavily on parenthetical statements.

  2. Knox McCoy says:

    My name is Knox and I’m from the future. My desired purpose is to make people laugh and think, ruin Dennis Quaid’s movie career and to get on Sharideth’s blogroll.

    I’ll hang up and listen. This was nice.

  3. Amanda says:

    I am Amanda. Some people call me Mandie.

    I have no idea how I stumbled across this blog, but I’m certainly glad I did.

    I blog about things that probably don’t matter, but I do so in a passionate way that makes you think they matter. It’s usually worth a laugh or two.

  4. G Fresh says:

    I’m Matt. I used to blog, but I quit after it became way too self-deprecating, so now I just go around leaving (hopefully) humorous comments on other people’s blogs.

    I came across this blog from a comment you left on stuffchristianslike.com. I’m originally from NE Indiana, but I’ve been in Nashville, TN for about 5 years.

    I like long walks on the beach and singing Elvis songs in the shower.

  5. I’m from the Southeastern USA, and have 3 blogs I barely ever update. Two of them are about miniature wargaming, and the last is about computer gaming. I also have an LJ languishing somewhere in the forgotten mists.

    I found your blog from Kristin’s blog.

  6. Amanda says:

    …waaaaait a second. Did you just lump Canada in with the US? DO NOT LUMP US. WE DO NOT LIKE TO BE LUMPED. That whole “Canadians are polite” stereotype ceases to exist if you continue to lump us. NO LUMPING.

  7. All I want is for you to review my blog. I know I could make lots of improvements. But I hate trying to figure this kind of stuff out. There are some “things in the works” so I’d love to know your thoughts and see if you come up with the same advice. You know my email…now please, if you have time…”Jon Acuff me.”

  8. King says:

    I’m King,
    I am here to point out that you left a word out.
    Second paragraph reads;
    “Bryan’s super power may blogging,…”

    Instead, how about;
    “Bryan’s super power may BE blogging,…”

    You’re welcome.

    Oh, and I totally overachieved in marriage too.

  9. randomlychad says:

    Like Bryan, I married way, way up; unlike him, I don’t have 6500 readers per month. This does not distress me. The little community I’m building seems to be picking up steam steadily–meaning that rather than a large audience, I seem to have the right audience.

    Interestingly enough, as I’ve focused on topics pertaining to faith, the readership has grown. Who knew? Also, interestingly, I feel like I’m honing in on my voice. But don’t take my word for it, please go checkout http://www.randomlychad.com

  10. Jenn says:

    I am from the great but modest land O’ Canada, and no Mandie and I are not relatives, though we might be, I think Mandie you’ve mentioned your Mennonite-ness – if so, as far as my father has informed me all Mennonites are related, you just have to look hard enough…

    I found Sharideth through her comments on Jesus Needs New Pr, his post about Mark Driscoll’s hate on Twilight sealed my blogger crush on Sharideth – yep, I’m okay with admitting that

    I blog about my life – it was about my horrid dating life, but now I don’t malign my boyfriend on my blog, so I am channeling my blogging on my Gluten and Dairy free/Marathoning blog – http://www.runningtowardswellness.blogspot.com

  11. heather joy says:

    I’m Heather and I found your blog through…. maybe Tyler Tarver? I have a terrible memory… I really can’t remember.

    I blog about Christian stuff… I thrive on controvery. I like to make people think, so I post questions that provoke answers (even from people who really don’t want to get involved but can’t help themselves), I purposely blog about things that ruffle feathers, and I invite guest bloggers to write for me as well and tell them they’re allowed to be as controversial as they want so long as they don’t cross any lines as far as disrespecting God.

    It’s fun.

    By the way – I love your blog. and I’m a woman. But I definitely referred my brother here… and I think it helped. He has a girlfriend now. ha. 🙂

  12. PopThyCollar says:

    I’m Pop Thy Collar, but you already know that, coz somehow you have me on your blogroll, which is weird – kinda like when you see your name written down out of context, except it’s in context.

    Anyway, I’m from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The English part, better known as England, or the best bit

    That makes me English. I write in English too. Like you. Except you’re not. Which is weird.

    So you seem to be hangin’ with the Christian blog A-listers now h’uh?

    Pretty cool. I once got an email from Bryan and Jon once commented on my comment on his blog. I feel insignificant now.

    Just messing – the blog looks loads better – good on you!

  13. Jenn says:

    My name is Jenn (imagine that, there’s only eleventy billion) and a good friend of mine forwarded your blog to me and I’ve been hooked ever since. I blog as well, not really with much of a purpose except to share my random rants with the world. Case in point: http://canigetthattogo.blogspot.com/2011/03/yabba-dabba-do.html

    I live in Washington, DC, home of Ebenezers Coffeehouse, and for those of you who love Jesus AND like to read, Mark Batterson. Shameless, perhaps, but he’s my claim to Christian fame. I often make him lattes.

  14. Melissa says:

    I’m Melissa. I blog because I need to write regularly or I start to crave a creative outlet. Also, it keeps some of my friends and associates in the loop. Kind of.

  15. Jenilee says:

    I don’t know how I found your blog, but golly I have passed it on to many a friends. 🙂 My little humble blog is randoms from my life, work, and family. 🙂

    http://www.jenileejoy.com

Leave a Reply

